Any Problems with this Setup? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-11-2010, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Question Any Problems with this Setup?

I plan on building a computer and this is my first time. I've had a little bit of help deciding. I plan on playing Crysis....yeah, i know....maybe on a lower setting if I have to. Are there any compatibility issues with this setup?

Processor and Motherboard: Intel Core i7 960 with ASUS p6x58d premium bundle

Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 295

Ram: Kingston 6G 3x2 ddr3

Hard Drive: Western Digital 1TB 7200 rpm SATA

Haven't decided on a case, dvd burner, or what power supply I need.

Thanks:
__________________

ParanoiaSurvivor is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

So far so good, all seems compatible. You did not list the speed of the RAM though. You can stick around a bit more to get suggestions from the other users who are more expert at these stuff than me .
__________________

__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanoiaSurvivor View Post
I plan on building a computer and this is my first time. I've had a little bit of help deciding. I plan on playing Crysis....yeah, i know....maybe on a lower setting if I have to. Are there any compatibility issues with this setup?

Processor and Motherboard: Intel Core i7 960 with ASUS p6x58d premium bundle

Video Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 295

Ram: Kingston 6G 3x2 ddr3

Hard Drive: Western Digital 1TB 7200 rpm SATA

Haven't decided on a case, dvd burner, or what power supply I need.

Thanks:
If you want to save some money and get the same or better performance, you could get an i7 920 and just overclock it.
Slaymate could help you out in that department, as could looking at the overclocking section of this forum.

i7 960 = i7 920 but with a higher multiplier
You can take an i7 920 and overclock it to the same levels or beyond an i7 960 for a much lower price.



For graphics I would suggest getting an ATI 5870, while it performs slightly below a GTX 295, it has much lower power requirements, produces less heat, and is a single GPU versus the GTX 295's two GPU's.

With the money you save buying an i7 920 vs the i7 960 though, you could opt for an ATI 5970 which is MUCH better than a GTX 295 and only ~$100 more.
You could easily max Crysis with a 5970.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
farinha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 866
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

orihS ‪‪‪Shiro said it all
__________________

ASUS P5P77D :: INTEL i5 750@3.6 GHz :: Asus HD4890 :: 4GB Gskill Ripjaw 1600MHz CL7 :: WD Black 1TB :: SSD OCZ Vertex2 60GB :: Corsair 750TX :: LG L204WT :: Windows 7 x64

<<<<<<<<<< If you think I've been helpful in anyway rep me :p
farinha is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

Alright cool, 920 definitely sounds like the way to go but overclocking scares me. I'm afraid of doing it wrong and messing something up. Couldn't figure out exactly what ram speed I needed. I think I was looking at 1600 MHz.
ParanoiaSurvivor is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 10:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanoiaSurvivor View Post
Alright cool, 920 definitely sounds like the way to go but overclocking scares me. I'm afraid of doing it wrong and messing something up. Couldn't figure out exactly what ram speed I needed. I think I was looking at 1600 MHz.
Overclocking these days is easy.
You won't have any problems, and it's hard to permanently damage anything just by overclocking.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 10:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

And the ATI 5970 is DDR5 but that isn't a problem for a mobo that supports DDR3 correct?
ParanoiaSurvivor is offline  
Old 03-11-2010, 11:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

Vram (video card) is completely different then the RAM your motherboard supports. It will work fine with the board you choose.
__________________
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 07:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

It looks like you're playing with a pretty high budget so you might want to think about getting an SSD for your OS and games. Speaking of OS, you should be looking at windows 7 64bit.

Case: The bigger, the better! Here are a couple of good ones:
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases
Newegg.com - XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Computer Cases

PSU: Since you're getting high-end parts, you'll need a high-end PSU that'll handle top of the line gear. Here are a few good ones:
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V &#47; EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE OP800 800W ATX 12V 2.2 &#38; EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2 &#47; EPS12V 2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
Newegg.com - Antec TruePower Quattro TPQ-1000 1000W Continuous Power ATX12V &#47; EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Active PFC &#34;compatible with Core i7&#47;Core i5&#34; Power Supply - Power Supplies

As for video card, the i recommend the 5870, and if it doesn't surpass your needs (which i doubt) you could always add another in Crossfire.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 03-12-2010, 12:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: Any Problems with this Setup?

And how important is the type of DVD burner and hard drive? Any recommendations?
__________________

ParanoiaSurvivor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Three problems with my computer Meryx Laptops and Notebooks 2 02-22-2010 07:31 PM
New internet-wired problems! lyecdevf Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 01-19-2010 06:26 AM
Youtube Videos: Playback Problems And Fixes Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 11-18-2009 09:45 AM
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 02:26 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.