Any problems with crucial? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2007, 12:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
bum
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 286
Default Any problems with crucial?

Has anyone had any problems with Crucial? I saw these: Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
and was rather tempted to get them due to low price. I have 2gigs of corasair XMS Atm, but I have a Opteron 175 (dual core) so extra memory is always welcome, especially when its this cheap.

Anyways it seems lots of people are saying these fail after about 1/2 a year and crucial denies that they are having problems. With a $70 MIR and a lifetime warranty, I'm not exactly dripping sweat with this investment (as long as they honor it), but I figured play it safe and ask around. Has Crucial recently gone into swindling business moves or are these just a bad batch?
__________________

__________________
Opteron 175 + Scythe Infinity
Asus A8N32-SLI
2 gigs corsair XMS DDR 400
XFX geforce 6800 XT
X-navigator case
30G Maxtor + 250G Maxtor

"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn." -- Seagate CEO Bill Watkins
bum is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 12:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

I bought them for my system. Several people on here recommend them.

Plus you have a lifetime warranty. Can't beat it
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 01:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Gears of War King
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Under a rock...
Posts: 770
Send a message via AIM to MaV II DARK II
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bum View Post
Has anyone had any problems with Crucial? I saw these: Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
and was rather tempted to get them due to low price. I have 2gigs of corasair XMS Atm, but I have a Opteron 175 (dual core) so extra memory is always welcome, especially when its this cheap.

Anyways it seems lots of people are saying these fail after about 1/2 a year and crucial denies that they are having problems. With a $70 MIR and a lifetime warranty, I'm not exactly dripping sweat with this investment (as long as they honor it), but I figured play it safe and ask around. Has Crucial recently gone into swindling business moves or are these just a bad batch?

For $30 more you could get 2gb instead of 1gb
MaV II DARK II is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 02:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

Had mine for about 4 months, with no problems, stable as can be.
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MaV II DARK II View Post
For $30 more you could get 2gb instead of 1gb
but thats not the ram he needs, he uses ddr 400, not ddr2-800
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 12:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

Crucial makes very good ram and even if it fails after 6 months that lifetime warranty will back you up. They're very good about replacing sticks quickly.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 01:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
Crucial makes very good ram and even if it fails after 6 months that lifetime warranty will back you up. They're very good about replacing sticks quickly.
i've heard that too.... quite overclockable
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 02:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

gskill ram is better
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 03:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

i would take crucial over gskill if the price was right
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 11:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Any problems with crucial?

i havent seen as much of the crucial but hey, give me better o/cing proof and cheaper price and im there.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multipule Problems smssoleimani Viruses, Spyware and Malware 14 06-11-2007 12:36 PM
Laptop will not fully boot and other problems! Help! LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-03-2007 01:22 PM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 09:08 AM
Some MacBooks May Have Battery Problems Osiris Apple and Mac 0 04-27-2007 05:50 PM
Harddrive problems Shafra Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-29-2007 05:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.