Antialiasing question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2006, 01:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default Antialiasing question.

Simple question, I have never used this feature, I have just recently finished building my gaming rig, will put it in sig soon. Basicly should I have it on? or is it used for low quality machines?

I currently put on ultra settings in doom 3 and Alias was not on so I put it on x16 with no system decrease in performance, so was wondering if it was good, like I said im new to having a great computer so bare with me, ty.
__________________

Hunt12 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 02:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default

Simply put, anit aliasing smoothes out the edges of objects on screen to make the whole presentation crisper. you should notice some difference between no anti aliasing and x16 anti aliasing

http://www.richleader.com/images/Pul...i-aliasing.png

look at that example to see what i mean.

This is done by

a) rendering an image of a greater size than the monitor then shrinking it down so any jagged edges are less visible

or

b) combining slightly different images that are rendered separately, each adding more information to further anti-alias the image.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

See... you can teach and old Salt like me new tricks... to be honest I kinda, sorta knew what it was, but never knew the actual answer... Cool! See now I can go play some more with my GPU...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Hey thanks, time to turn anti on all the way baby!
__________________
Case: Tuniq gaming tower
Motherboard: Asus A8n32 sli Deluxe x16
CPU: Dual core 3800 Athlon AMD 64
GPU: Nvidia 7900gt
Ram: 2g corsair
Power Supply: 500 watt
Cooling: Cooler Master Liquid cooling
Hard disk: 160g 7200 rpm
Drive: Dvd -R -RW +R +RW
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Hunt12 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 04:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Now I have heard that turning it too much can cause freezing of severe lag in games. to play with the setting first before you go crankin it up...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 44
Default

Yes have everything maxed out example doom 3 gave a warning that this setting was extremely high and might cause severe lag...something like that, but I have np in any place at all. Basicly couldnt be happier with my system .
__________________
Case: Tuniq gaming tower
Motherboard: Asus A8n32 sli Deluxe x16
CPU: Dual core 3800 Athlon AMD 64
GPU: Nvidia 7900gt
Ram: 2g corsair
Power Supply: 500 watt
Cooling: Cooler Master Liquid cooling
Hard disk: 160g 7200 rpm
Drive: Dvd -R -RW +R +RW
Sound Card: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE
Hunt12 is offline  
Old 05-24-2006, 07:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

yeah i can run ultra settings 1600x1200 / 16x AA 16x AF @ around ... ehh well 70 fps

in windows its a little slower, like 55


but when i turn off the AA i get like 120 so AA does decrease FPS dramatically, its just harder to notice when you have high FPS without and still high FPS with ... because well, they are both high


you might be going from 500 frames per second to 120 and it wouldnt be as noticeable as 70 to 40, yet the percentage decrease is way more on the unnoticed one.
The General is offline  
Old 05-25-2006, 07:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 115
Default

i always go with 2x AA as i dont see any big difference between 2 and higher.
__________________

[SF]MKM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.