Antec Silver 5 compund....

Status
Not open for further replies.

ant7701

Solid State Member
Is it worth it??? Gonna start assembly soon and was wondering if you guys say its a must or what? I am using EVGA Micro X58 board with the i7 920 CPU. Antec 900 case. Not gonna be gaming....mostly media and such but I want to know whats the percentage of users here that will not build a PC w/o it? If my post sounds like I am a complete noob.....sorry but I somewhat am.

also.....the CPU heatsink and fan that comes with the i7.....should I upgrade or am I ok just using the OEM one???

If you're aren't gaming and only using media programs there really isn't a need for a 920. Unless you're doing video editing or some intensive programming. Why not save money and get something cheaper?

Is it worth it??? Gonna start assembly soon and was wondering if you guys say its a must or what? I am using EVGA Micro X58 board with the i7 920 CPU. Antec 900 case. Not gonna be gaming....mostly media and such but I want to know whats the percentage of users here that will not build a PC w/o it? If my post sounds like I am a complete noob.....sorry but I somewhat am.

also.....the CPU heatsink and fan that comes with the i7.....should I upgrade or am I ok just using the OEM one???

Well, I think you should get a cheap heatsink for it either way..

I find that the stock cooling is utter crap.

Tuniq TX-2 is cheaper and better than AS5

lol....no. Not overclocking at all. Like I said not gaming or anything. I dont even know how to overclock really. I'll live with what it is. And yes I did mean Artic Silver 5....sorry. Well....my question is then....should I use any compound or is it OK if I just run without it?

Also....anyone got an i7 heatsink/fan that you would recommend???