antec 900 quick question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-24-2007, 07:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default antec 900 quick question

hi. Im looking to build a gaming system with an antec 900 case but im a little concerned about cable management. I know cable management in this case is supposed to be bad but im wondering if any1 has built a rig with a 8800GTX and a non-modular PSU in this case and how did it go? Im probably not going to change the case btw.
__________________

Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

Well i dont have a GTX but I have a large X1950PRO card. The non modular PSU can be a pain because you have to stuff the cables in front of the PSU and this can block the airflow from the bottom fan to the PSU itself.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

does it get very hot where all the wires are stuffed?
Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

It shouldn't.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

Well the wires themselves dont get hot and the exaust of the PSU (i have a pcp&c so the airflow is like this.

__________________________________________________ ______
l
[Hot air] l[80MM Exhaust][PSU<-air into PSU][Stuffed wires][HD Bay][<-fan]
l_________________________________________________ _______

The exaust is only mildly warm aswell.

Actually there is a small compartment under the HD bay where you could stuff the wires but i couldnt be bothered doing that for some reason.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

so cabling probably isnt an issue then? also i am also wondering about vista 32-bit vs 64 bit and 2GB of RAM vs 4GB (i know this has nothing to do with the topic but its really the only problem i have left in finalizing my build plan)
Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

You could just cut into your case and run the wires in the back. Check the wire management section for plenty of good examples on modded Antec 900's. It's a bit intimidating to do your first case mod but it's a good learning experience and worth it imho. My psu is non-modular (but sleeved wires) and I have the GTS. No problems.
__________________

3dMark06 = 13,687
Futuremark - ORB - Project Comparison
Antec 900 (Modded)
Q6600 G0 @ 3.3GHz (8multi x 413FSB; 1.3375v)
Asus P5K Deluxe
Tuniq Tower 120 (Lapped)
XFX 8800GTS @ 703/1,008 (ATItool)
2G Corsair XMS2 DDR2-826 2T 4-4-4-12
Seagate 7200.10 320G
LiteOn 20x DL DVD-Rw
Acbel 607W
Windows XP Pro 32bit
Pdawg is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseking25 View Post
so cabling probably isnt an issue then? also i am also wondering about vista 32-bit vs 64 bit and 2GB of RAM vs 4GB (i know this has nothing to do with the topic but its really the only problem i have left in finalizing my build plan)
64-bit vista with 2gb of RAM, don't get 4 unless you do heavy video editing, animation, or intensive photoshop
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 10:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdawg View Post
You could just cut into your case and run the wires in the back. Check the wire management section for plenty of good examples on modded Antec 900's. It's a bit intimidating to do your first case mod but it's a good learning experience and worth it imho. My psu is non-modular (but sleeved wires) and I have the GTS. No problems.
I'll second that...have the 900 and the GTS, no problem with room, but some holes in the back and ran most of the cables behind the mobo.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 12:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: antec 900 quick question

It's a little cramped but it's not too hard to make it look clean.
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick question on cooling my COOLER MASTER Centurion 5. Saint71 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-20-2007 11:36 PM
Quick Question...RAM SYL\X/3K New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-12-2007 06:39 AM
Quick case question sailpog System Upgrades 6 10-05-2007 12:21 PM
Adaptors for Antec 900 Fans Andyf Overclocking and Modding 14 09-27-2007 12:26 AM
Very quick question my friends psychedelos New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-13-2007 03:00 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.