Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2008, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

Will this PSU power the 280gtx?

Newegg.com - Antec True Power Trio TP3-650 650W ATX12V NVIDIA SLI Certified ATI CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply with Three 12V Rails - Power Supplies

I have it in my system now running and older 8800GTS. It has 1 6 pin PCI-E adapter and 1 6+2 pin PCIE.

I'm running a Q6600 at stock speed with 4gb ram and 2 hard drives.

I was looking at this Corsair PSU if I have to buy one.
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V NVIDIA SLI Ready ATI CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies

But my motherboard has an 8 pin CPU adapter, and I'm confused as to whether either PSU will work. Any help would be great I'm not all that good with the PSU stuff and prefer not to buy one if the Antec will work, but if it won't, does the Corsair above have all the connections I would need for the 280 gtx?

Thanks guys!
__________________

Vandrad is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

Itll work just fine, the corsair would be a good choice if you wanted to SLI GTX 280's.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

Corsair is cheaper after MIR so get the 750w Corsair.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 01:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

Zedman, he already has the psu, he wants to know if he needs to upgrade. no, you don't need to upgrade quite yet. if you want to run another get the Corsair, but until then don't fret heh heh heh
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 03:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

That's awesome! I didn't think the Antec would push it but it really has been a great stable PSU.

I'm a little confused about the 8 pin config. I see the 280 GTX needs 1 6 pin and one 9 pin. Without gutting all the wires I tucked away on the PSU I think the only 8 pin was used on the motherboard. But the box says 1 6 pin PCI-E and 1 6+2 pin PCI-E. Then it lists CPU power as one standard 4 pin and one 8 pin. So I won't need to buy any weird 8 pin adapters or anything right?

Thanks again
Vandrad is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 07:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

You have an 8pin pci-e which breaks away into a 6pin, along with your regular 6pin pci-e.

You wont need any adapters/
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 09:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Antec 650 Truepower Trio and 280GTX?

corsair 750tx: All Search Results - Buy.com

Get that ^^ its the same 750tx, but its cheaper, and you can $10 more off if you use Google Checkout
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.