Another ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2006, 10:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 90
Default Another ram question

I just wanted to know whats the difference between 4 512MB Ram and 2 1GB ram. Why is the 2 1GB better than 4 512MB, isn't it the more the better
__________________

juststarting123 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

Im curious about this too.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 11:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Who's telling you it is?

If we are talking Dual channel DDR RAM, as long as the memory sticks are matched in the appropriate channels, either way will work. The four sticks leave you no room for further expansion (you would have to remove a pair to put larger RAM modules in later), they will use a little more power and make a little more heat than the single matched pair.
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

What I'm wondering:

Is 2 x 1gb slower than 4 x 512mb?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to Dngrsone Send a message via Yahoo to Dngrsone
Default

Shouldn't be. Different brands on memory do management differently, so there will be cases where Brand A (2 pairs 512MB ea) will outperform Brand B (1 pair 1GB ea).
Dngrsone is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

Well, the 2x1gb RAM is more expensive cause it leaves you room for expansion. Consider a 4-RAM slot mobo. If u fill all slots with 512MB RAM sticks, it will be 2GB but if u want to upgrade to 4GB, for instance, in the future u will need to get rid of all four 512 sticks. But with 2 sticks of 1GB u will just need to get two more 1 GB sticks.
Also, for many mobos they only have 2 RAM slot, so obviously they will have to buy 2 sticks of 1GB Ram rather than 2x512 RAM.
__________________

__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.