Another Ram Question - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2007, 08:43 PM   #51 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Another Ram Question

__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:43 PM   #52 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Hey peter what's better 1 gig of crucial or a 2gb stick of g skill for performance? Hmm... tough choice huh?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:44 PM   #53 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
We'll see.
u won't see it because u don't have the Ballistix 2gb to compare....
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:44 PM   #54 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
Hey peter what's better 1 gig of crucial or a 2gb stick of g skill for performance? Hmm... tough choice huh?
/FAIL.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:45 PM   #55 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
u won't see it because u don't have the Ballistix 2gb to compare....
Then you don't know either if one is worse or better for OC'ing...since I don't have both to compare.
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:46 PM   #56 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:46 PM   #57 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
/FAIL.
Here's a hint, which number is higher?
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:46 PM   #58 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
Then you don't know either if one is worse or better for OC'ing...since I don't have both to compare.
But the forum has all these kinds of ram...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:46 PM   #59 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Another Ram Question

i gig of crucial.
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 1GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory - Retail > Newegg.com - G.SKILL Value 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 08:47 PM   #60 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
Here's a hint, which number is higher?
Mines is, by 4 inches.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Question about 4gb RAM OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-02-2007 10:46 AM
RAM Question Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-02-2007 05:21 AM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.