Another Ram Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2007, 06:49 PM   #11 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Post Numero Dose of DDR2-800 vs DDR2-1200
Quote:
not noticeable amount...
way to pay attention and read.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
Post Numero Dose of DDR2-800 vs DDR2-1200


way to pay attention and read.
Question was vernong's reccomendation of 2 gb vs 4 gb, who taught you how to read?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
Post Numero Dose of DDR2-800 vs DDR2-1200


way to pay attention and read.
Reading is overrated?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
Question was vernong's reccomendation of 2 gb vs 4 gb, who taught you how to read?
Where's the recommendation you keep talking about?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Post Numero UNO of DDR2-800 vs. DDR2-1200
Quote:
Just bought the EvGA 780i mobo and a pair of the crucial 1gb sticks of DDR2 800. I now realize that the board can support up to DDR2 1200 and was wondering if it really makes that much of a difference in game playing, etc.
Your First Post!
Quote:
How much difference in performance would DDR2 1000 be from DDR2 800
I'm considering one of these:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

I will be usign an Abit IP35 Pro, Q6600, TRUE120 and plan on overclocking. I think I might just end up buying the DDR2 1000 with just the $15 price difference.
again, way to pay attention and way to read.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Might not have been Vernong but he deleted it right after he posted it.

"Cheaper, and better: Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail"

This kit costs almost at much as the 2 x 2gb kit. I'd rather get the 2x2gb
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:57 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
Post Numero UNO of DDR2-800 vs. DDR2-1200


Your First Post!


again, way to pay attention and way to read.
Read my last post. 3rd grade would have been nice huh?
__________________
Current Build:
CPU: AMD x2 3800
Case: thermaltake tsunami
Ram: 2x1gb OCZ ddr4pc3200
GPU: 7800 GT
PSU: Antec 500w
Mobo: DFI lanparty
Rich_Franklin is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 06:58 PM   #18 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich_Franklin View Post
Might not have been Vernong but he deleted it right after he posted it.

"Cheaper, and better: Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail"

This kit costs almost at much as the 2 x 2gb kit. I'd rather get the 2x2gb
What have you been smoking? Seriously, go outside right now and take a fresh breather.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Another Ram Question

yyyeaaaaaaaaaaahhhh.... your question was is it worth the 15 dollars more (ddr2-800 vs ddr2-1200). and you pretty much tried to say we suck on the forums, when the answers were right in front of you. and now you're trying to back up what you said when it's quite clear that you have no idea how to do even the basic of tasks, i.e, reading skills, basic comprehension, articulation of points, and cohesive statements.

/epicfail
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 07:16 PM   #20 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Another Ram Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter.Cort View Post
yyyeaaaaaaaaaaahhhh.... your question was is it worth the 15 dollars more (ddr2-800 vs ddr2-1200). and you pretty much tried to say we suck on the forums, when the answers were right in front of you. and now you're trying to back up what you said when it's quite clear that you have no idea how to do even the basic of tasks, i.e, reading skills, basic comprehension, articulation of points, and cohesive statements.

/epicfail
He might want to delete his posts, OH WAIT: YOU CAN'T. lol @ vernon's deleted post
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simple Question about 4gb RAM OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-02-2007 10:46 AM
RAM Question Prophet New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-02-2007 05:21 AM
RAM testing question jfenwick System Upgrades 12 10-20-2007 04:52 PM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM
Ram overclocking question Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-08-2007 11:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.