Another PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2005, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Another PSU question

Maybe a question like this has came up before, but i couldnt find one.

I have an allied 500W that im useing from an older systtem. My systems in my sig.

My quesiton is is 500W enough for it? I mean things seem to run stable. But for some reason under system itr says that my CPU is running at 1.94 instead of 2.00. I checked it in BIOS and set everything to default. I know its only a hundreths of a difference but could this somehow be effected by the power supply? I had to use the 6 pin converter for my vid card and the 20 to 24pin for my mobo. And a 4pin male to a sata power connection. Would it be worth it to buy a higher wattage PSU thats a name brand?
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 04:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

its not about wattage its more about the quality, and a bet that allied is pretty crappy. you should go with antec, OCZ, enermax, etc.

why has there been so many psu questions these days?
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Wattage is not an accurate representation of a power supply or what it is capable of...when deciding on what is a good and bad PSU there are general three factors to consider

First being you PSUs 100% 24/7 sustained output...this means that if you buy a 500w PSU, it should have a sustained output of 500w under any conditions...many companies will advertise power supplies based on their peak 60 second sustained output, or in other words, the maximum output that your PSU can give out over a short amount of time...a real 500w PSU should have a peak output of around 600w, if it's 500 exactly then it isn't a true 500w PSU

Second factor is your rails...primarily your 12v rail...recommended absolute minimum for your setup I suggest would be no less than 24amps on the 12v rail...you can find this out by reading the label on the side of you PSU...another important factor with your rails is stability...you want them to maintain a steady output that is as close to what they are rated as possible...for example, if your 12v rail is only giving around 11v you risk undervolting and frying a part of your PC...general acceptable rule is within 5% of where it should be and not jumping around under load

Finally, the heavier the better...if your PSU feels light it's most likely constructed using poor quality capacitators
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 11-04-2005, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default

It says next to the 12V 20A. And it does specify a couple times 500W MAX. Yea I think this weekend i plan on getting a new power supply to be on the safe side. And its not very heavy from what I remember.

Since ive joind this forum you have all be really helpfull and I really appreciate it. I never knew how important it is to have a good power supply, i thought a power supply was just a power supply and the names didnt matter. This forum and my IT essentials class have helped me alot, ive learned so much.

I've noticed alot of power supply questions also.

I sadly cant do mail order and have to get parts from around here, and my choices are frys and PC club ( www.pcclub.com ). They seem to have pretty much anything id need. I just dont wanna spend more then 100 bucks on a power supply, since its my parents money and they alread paid for my whole computer.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.