Another C2D system! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2007, 11:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default Another C2D system!

This is my first build EVER! I'm really excited about it and I couldn't wait until I got pictures to post here. Hopefully I'll get them if I have time between Oblivion and BF2.

C2D E6300 (soon to be overclocked to 3~3.2GHz)
eVGA 680i Mobo
eVGA 8800GTS
Kingston HyperX DDR2 800
2 x (RAID 0) WD Caviar 250GB (Set up raid by myself!)
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
Thermaltake Xaser III ATX Full tower (7 fans, makes my old computer sound like a jet taking off)
Antec TP3 650W PSU

This thing's a beast! I'm still a newbie but my old rig scored a miserable 8,968 on Aquamark 3, this thing scored +107,000 without CPU overclock (as you can see, I was in serious need for a massive upgrade). Downloaded 3DMark 05 but It wouldn't install, I'll try again soon. It ran Oblivion 12x10, HDR, full settings with only small blips when outside, I think the CPU is the bottleneck here and should solve the problem after overclocking. Tell me what you think!
__________________

apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

very very nice.. have fun ocing good luck!
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

Thanks! I will!
__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

You've done well there. Should be very happy with that. Can't wait to see those pics.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

lol, the pics won't be very neat looking, with all those case fans, I couldn't figure out how to straighten up the wiring so I basically pushed them up out of the way of airflow... I know, I need to fix it... I was just impatient to get it running lol.
__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

i would sayy get some tape and tape the wires to the case.. or the wire manager thingies that look like 'U' and then you cross it like "X'....
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 11:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Yeah I didn't really worry about wires to start off either, I was too eager to get it going, but when I get a chance I will tidy up the case.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 08:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

Alright, thanks. I have a 3DMark03 benchmark in, 15126. I haven't even looked to compare it to other rigs. The screenshot is below. This is without CPU OC, I'll be doing that soon!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 3d mark 03 score.jpg (32.9 KB, 44 views)
apdrummer is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 08:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

Well done that man, i know how exciting these things can be!
Get some of these Velcro ties, there like cable ties but there coloured fabric type things that tie up, they look better than plastic cable ties and there not hard so wont hurt the wires if there too tight, heres a pic of mine
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 10:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 133
Default

Alright, thanks, the pic helped a lot.
I have it at a stable OC of ~2.56 GHz It started getting a bit warm, but that speed's fine for me. I didn't want to put anymore voltage into the core either, it was already set at 1.45v (SpeedFan read 1.42v) So I didn't want to fry it lol. I also have the Northbridge and FSB voltages at 1.5v. (please tell me if any of what i stated is abnormal) Maybe later I'll invest in a better heatsink/fan.

New Aquamark3 benchmark: +130,000. I was disapointed in the new 3DMark score, it was only a few hundred more, Though Oblivion runs flawlessly now. Haven't had time for BF2 yet.
__________________

__________________
http://img72.imageshack.us/img72/5540/tf20kbo2.jpg
eVGA nForce 680i
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.92GHz
eVGA 8800GTS
2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 800 HyperX
2 x WD Caviar 250GB in RAID 0
Antec TP3 650W
Arctic Cooler 7 Pro
apdrummer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.