Another 1 Who needs ADVICE - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2006, 10:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Another 1 Who needs ADVICE

I am planning on building a new computer in the next 8 months. AMD. I play alot of gamming. Games like BF2, Fear, ect, ext. I also use the puter for playing MP3's and some photo editing and printing. Should I go with a duel core processor. I want something that will have really nice looking graphics; don't need the best though. Should I go duel core? Do I really loose that much in the graphics potential? What's the best socket type? and what's the Teledo mean? Is that good? I'm running socket A now; little behind the times.
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

The intel core 2 dous are the best proccessors right now on skt lg775. AMD's x2 are still pretty good if you must go with AMD, but a core 2 dou e6300 oced a little beats an fx-60 with a $400 difference in price . And yes i would go with a dual core, cause its more future proof and its great for multi-tasking (ie listining to your mp3 files and photo editing at the same time).

If you give us a budget, we should be able to come up with a computer for ya. Do you need everything (monitor, keyboard/mouse, speakers) or just the computer?
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You're not a little behind the time but way behind. Yes you should get a dual core. It will enable you to multitask. Like you can be playing BF2 and encode videos or music at the same time. Toledo is a core AMD uses for dual-core cpus.

edit: Yea, darktop is right. The intel socket 775 and the core 2 duo processors are the best right now.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

I just need a computer. I have a CRT that will do for now. I have a cd rom, cd rw, dvd rw, and 1.5 gig of pc3200 RAM. It's just regular cheap ram. I rearly over clock. I would like to spend under a grand. I've been an AMD man. I always liked there prices compared with there performance. I wouldn't be afraid to change as long as it's still the same basic set up for building a computer other than the board and chip.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 12:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Do you want to upgrade your Mobo as well?

I suggest either an Opteron or X2 4800.

I plan to get an Opteron as soon as I get enough cash, they are great processors.
__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

I have to get a new mobo because there isn't much going on with Socket A and AGP
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

you won't be able to use your old ram unless you go with the skt 939 but its starting to faid out. Ill come up with a build for ya for just the computer:

CM centurion 5 $45
WD 250gb sataII 16mb $80
gskill 1gb ddr2 800 $115
asus p5b-vinalla $140
TT purepower 600w $105
Core 2 dou e6300 $181
evga 7900gt $236

total: $932 (w/ shipping), $902 (after mail-in-rebates)

or if you can deal with a mid-range graphics card, go with:

core 2 dou e6600 $309
evga 7600gt $130

total: $950 (w/ shipping), $930 (after mail-in-rebate)

If you can deal with the 7600gt for a while, then get the e6600. Either way, use evga's step up program to upgrade to a dx10 card later. Also, you can get another stick of ram later for 2gb.
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 01:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default

I really had my heart set on this case for a while now.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811133149

If I can afford it, what do ya think?

oh yeah, what's the step up program?
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 02:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

It's up to you if you want a full tower case, but I don't think its nessecary. Im not fimilar with that TT case so maybe someone else with it can give you some suggestions on it or another full tower case that will met your budget. The good full tower cases (ie armor series or cooler master's stacker) are going to throw you off budget though. But that full tower might be good, like i said wait till someone with that case gives you a suggestion.



evga step-up program

its a great way to upgrade your graphics card without having to dump the old one and pay for the new graphics card in full, just don't wait too long to upgrade (i think it is 90 days). The mid-range dx10 cards will be out early next year which is what you should upgrade to unless you can pay for one of the higher end dx10 cards (they're $450+ right now).
__________________

__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.