Animation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-25-2014, 01:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
ZeeTali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Arrow Animation

So I plan to build my first computer ( yay me ) it will mainly be for animation. I am on a very low budget so I know I'm not going to build the best computer but that's okay, I just need something to start my animation with. This is my list so far, let me know what you think.

CPU: AMD FX-8350 4.0GHz 8-Core Processor ($139.97 @ Amazon)
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-78MT-USB3 Micro ATX AM3+ motherboard ($57.86 @PCOutlet)
Memory: Team Elite 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($31.99 @ Newegg)
Memory: Team Elite 4GB (1 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($31.99 @ Newegg)
Storage: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM ($53.49 @ PCOutlet)
Case: Logisys CS369BK ATX Mid Tower Case w/480W Power Supply ($39.79 @ NCIX US)
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-224DB/BEBE DVD/CD Writer ($13.99 @ Amazon)
Total: $369.08

Any suggestions? And any advice for a GPU? Thanks.
__________________

ZeeTali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 02:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Animation

Can you tell us your budget, also, what software you plan on using for your animations? Are these video animations or comic strip like ones?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 04:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
ZeeTali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Post Re: Animation

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Can you tell us your budget, also, what software you plan on using for your animations? Are these video animations or comic strip like ones?
I was shooting for less than 400$ but if I do go over, which it will most likely, I didn't want to go over 500$. I was going to stick with Blender for 3D video animation and AnimatorHD for stop motion.
ZeeTali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 08:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Animation

If there's one thing I must implore you to change, it would be the power supply. Go with either Antec or Corsair. They may be more expensive, but it's worth the cost. Higher quality. It may not be immediately noticeable, but you'll definitely notice when that Logisys PSU is dead
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2014, 09:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Animation

You are going to run into issues with your build in a few key areas after looking at the software mentioned.

Blender requires 8GB of RAM, a 4 core processor, and a 1GB Graphics adapter... The build you have chosen while it meets or exceeds when it comes to the CPU and RAM, has no dedicated card, so it seems your planning on using the GPU that is on that motherboard, which is a VERY weak and highly out-dated GPU, ATI 3000 series graphics is from ~2009ish, to top it off, that GPU will need to be set to use 1GB of the system ram, which knocks the system down to 7GB, and that's if the motherboard will LET you dedicate 1GB to the GPU, if memory serves right, most cap at 512MB with that chipset.

Staying within a maximum of $500, do you already have an operating system to install on this machine? I honestly would recommend Intel for the CPU, but due to the budget your build is fairly decent. I highly suggest getting a dedicated GPU, such as this,

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 02G-P4-3751-KR G-SYNC Support 2GB Video Card - Newegg.com

Also, do NOT use the power supply that comes with the case, 99.99% of the time those power supplies will not supply ample clean power to the parts, and when they die, which they tend to die early on, it will most likely burn up every component you have. You are going to find, staying in your budget will be next to impossible since what your wanting to do technically needs a workstation like setup.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
ZeeTali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thumbs down Re: Animation

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
You are going to run into issues with your build in a few key areas after looking at the software mentioned.

Blender requires 8GB of RAM, a 4 core processor, and a 1GB Graphics adapter... The build you have chosen while it meets or exceeds when it comes to the CPU and RAM, has no dedicated card, so it seems your planning on using the GPU that is on that motherboard, which is a VERY weak and highly out-dated GPU, ATI 3000 series graphics is from ~2009ish, to top it off, that GPU will need to be set to use 1GB of the system ram, which knocks the system down to 7GB, and that's if the motherboard will LET you dedicate 1GB to the GPU, if memory serves right, most cap at 512MB with that chipset.

Staying within a maximum of $500, do you already have an operating system to install on this machine? I honestly would recommend Intel for the CPU, but due to the budget your build is fairly decent. I highly suggest getting a dedicated GPU, such as this,

EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 02G-P4-3751-KR G-SYNC Support 2GB Video Card - Newegg.com

Also, do NOT use the power supply that comes with the case, 99.99% of the time those power supplies will not supply ample clean power to the parts, and when they die, which they tend to die early on, it will most likely burn up every component you have. You are going to find, staying in your budget will be next to impossible since what your wanting to do technically needs a workstation like setup.
I knew I needed a GPU I just didn't know which one was good, but thanks I will check that out. Any recommendations for the power supply? How is Xion? I was originally going to get my own power supply but I didn't know the ones that came with the case were THAT bad.
ZeeTali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Animation

Xion, no.

Minimum I'd say is a Corsair CX500.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 09:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
ZeeTali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Thumbs up Re: Animation

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Xion, no.

Minimum I'd say is a Corsair CX500.
Had to ask, I kept hearing Corsair I'll go with that then.
ZeeTali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 10:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,311
Default Re: Animation

I'll quote myself.

Quote:
PSU is first on that list because this unit is the most important part of your computer whether you are gaming, 3D Modeling, Rendering, or making a server. I brushed on this before but I want to put it here too. If you use a cheap PSU it could undervolt your system from day one, die randomly, or send a spike through your PC blowing up parts if the voltage input drops or goes higher. A cheap unit does not regulate the voltage as good as a quality unit, nor can they handle the actual rated wattage. A cheap unit is rated at their peak wattage, a quality unit is rated at what they can handle for long periods of time and usually have an overhead of 100-200w give or take. This unit sends electricity to every single piece in your computer that you put money into. When you get a power brown or surge it can mean the death or life of your parts as well.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
animation, building, computer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
web menu animation U-Toast Web Graphics and Design 6 09-26-2004 10:18 PM
3D animation nemesis2004 Programming 2 04-10-2004 05:28 PM
Frame-to-frame animation is awesome mrdinkel Off Topic Discussion 2 03-29-2004 11:41 AM
animation halodude Web Graphics and Design 4 02-20-2004 04:36 PM
Why everyone doesn't use GIF's for animation Vivec Microsoft Windows and Software 4 01-02-2003 11:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.