Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-29-2008, 08:51 AM   #21 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

thats really all i do too, but i like new stuff lol.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-29-2008, 08:54 AM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

lol

eventually the q6600 will start trouncing the others in gaming, so might as well pick it up

and then give me your board for a good price
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 02:14 AM   #23 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

hold on guys i got a good question i need answered. Ok, the high-end Phenoms have a 2.0GHz HyperTransport, correct? I also read somewhere that the Phenoms have 3600MHz, 2600MHz, n whatever higher speeds on like newegg for example?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

what gives man?

i mean, shouldnt that 2.0GHz give it a huge boost or something? What am i missing here? The memory controller is in iimo the biggest choker to AMD's performance!

as for quads supporting games, what current games that support it? I have Hellgate: London, which is the most recent game i got.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 03:33 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Guff1988 Send a message via Yahoo to Guff1988
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hold on guys i got a good question i need answered. Ok, the high-end Phenoms have a 2.0GHz HyperTransport, correct? I also read somewhere that the Phenoms have 3600MHz, 2600MHz, n whatever higher speeds on like newegg for example?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

what gives man?

i mean, shouldnt that 2.0GHz give it a huge boost or something? What am i missing here? The memory controller is in iimo the biggest choker to AMD's performance!

as for quads supporting games, what current games that support it? I have Hellgate: London, which is the most recent game i got.
I think UT3 is the game that gets the most out of a quad core
__________________
http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/5568/cky9qc.jpg
They say Evil Prevails when good men fail to act.
What they should say is "Evil Prevails."
Guff1988 is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:39 AM   #25 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
hold on guys i got a good question i need answered. Ok, the high-end Phenoms have a 2.0GHz HyperTransport, correct? I also read somewhere that the Phenoms have 3600MHz, 2600MHz, n whatever higher speeds on like newegg for example?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

what gives man?

i mean, shouldnt that 2.0GHz give it a huge boost or something? What am i missing here? The memory controller is in iimo the biggest choker to AMD's performance!
im kinda confused by the question, but lets see if this is what you mean...
the current x2 chips have the 2ghz (1000 actual) hypertransport bus.
the phenoms have 3.6ghz (1800 actual) hypertransport bus.
i dont understand what you mean by the memory controller being the "choker"...? can you rephrase that please?
the current x2's can run at like 750-800 HT bus (or even less really) and suffer no real loss of performance. ie the availible hypertransport isn't usually fully utilized.
if you were using a VERY memory-intensive program or programs the higher HT bus on the phenoms would make a significant difference.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:07 PM   #26 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
im kinda confused by the question, but lets see if this is what you mean...
the current x2 chips have the 2ghz (1000 actual) hypertransport bus.
the phenoms have 3.6ghz (1800 actual) hypertransport bus.
i dont understand what you mean by the memory controller being the "choker"...? can you rephrase that please?
the current x2's can run at like 750-800 HT bus (or even less really) and suffer no real loss of performance. ie the availible hypertransport isn't usually fully utilized.
if you were using a VERY memory-intensive program or programs the higher HT bus on the phenoms would make a significant difference.
here, check the official specs:

AMD Phenomâ„¢ X4 Quad-Core Processors: Model Number and Feature Comparisons

the memory controller is 128-bit.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 12:18 AM   #27 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
here, check the official specs:

AMD Phenomâ„¢ X4 Quad-Core Processors: Model Number and Feature Comparisons

the memory controller is 128-bit.
thats more than enough.
it can have up to like 17+gb/s memory bandwidth (from the memory controller alone), which is like 5gb+ more than x2's...which suffer no problem even approaching all of that.
and the L1-L2 D-cache bus effective capacity is DOUBLE that of athlon 64's (from 64 bit to 128 bit), which is a tremendous improvement and obviously way more efficient.
latency is much more important in the memory controller than bandwidth in any event.
a graphics card memory bus is not the same as a cpu's memory bus...a cpu has multiple levels of cache (i'm sure you are aware of this). maybe that's why it seems low?
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 02:36 AM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
if the q6600 is cheaper, i would buy it. i would want an SLi mobo, which i cant seem to find. but then, im in a hurry at the moment.
Newegg.com - ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

This is an inexpensive motherboard with an SLI support.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
34.8/26.9 = 1.29 ....or 30% more. In this case lower is better so that means it took the 9550 30% more time to do the same work.

...beats me how maroon got 50%.
Yea it is 30% (if you are talking about photoshop), I just did math mistake

But 30% is still a big difference

However, I was right in DivX encoding. Q6600 was 50% faster
maroon1 is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 03:21 AM   #29 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Yea it is 30% (if you are talking about photoshop), I just did math mistake

But 30% is still a big difference

However, I was right in DivX encoding. Q6600 was 50% faster
When it comes to being only a few seconds...its not really that much of a difference. I can understand 20 or 30 seconds...but 8? Gimme a break man.

I dont see what peoples obsession with bashing Amd over and over is.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 03-31-2008, 04:12 AM   #30 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Anandtech: B3 Phenom, Q9300, Wolfdale Reviewed

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
When it comes to being only a few seconds...its not really that much of a difference. I can understand 20 or 30 seconds...but 8? Gimme a break man.
But if you are dealing with large files, then there would be much more than few seconds difference

For example, if it takes 1 hour for Phenom 9550 to encode a large DivX Movie, then Q6600 would take around 40 min because it is around 50% faster.
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
2 Phenom reviews gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 210 11-20-2007 11:49 AM
Phenom x4 vs Intel Core 2 and Quad gurusan New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-03-2007 07:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.