Amps on the 12v rails. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2009, 07:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Amps on the 12v rails.

Ok I was under the impression that each rail was assigned a certain amount of amperes. Recently someone told me they can "sort of" share amps. Is this true? If so, could someone please explain it a little better for me?
__________________

Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Amps on the 12v rails.

here is some good info for you to read.

Single vs. Multiple +12V rails: The splitting of the +12V rail - Hardware Canucks

Power supply rail - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Amps on the 12v rails.

Thanks! Was trying to find something like this hehe.

EDIT: Not really related, but whenever I get an email from this site, it blocks out the content and such until I click a few buttons. I've marked the address as safe, but it insists on warning me. Any way to make it shut up?
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Amps on the 12v rails.

I believe there's some sort of 20A limit for each 12v rail (to prevent them exploding, in the more dramatic cases), so for cards like a GTX260 (which requires about 22.5A I think) which needs two PCI-E connectors, each PCI-E connector will be on a different rail. And then things like CPU and hard drives can take up the rest.
So, I don't think they can "share" amps, but you see what I mean.

I'm not entirely sure that's the case, I may be wrong, I ain't an electrical engineer :P

Edit: I shouldn't have watched an episode of Family Guy while writing this, hefe beat me with much more accurate sources :P
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 07:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Skormm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 53
Default Re: Amps on the 12v rails.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I believe there's some sort of 20A limit for each 12v rail (to prevent them exploding, in the more dramatic cases), so for cards like a GTX260 (which requires about 22.5A I think) which needs two PCI-E connectors, each PCI-E connector will be on a different rail. And then things like CPU and hard drives can take up the rest.
So, I don't think they can "share" amps, but you see what I mean.

I'm not entirely sure that's the case, I may be wrong, I ain't an electrical engineer :P

Edit: I shouldn't have watched an episode of Family Guy while writing this, hefe beat me with much more accurate sources :P
Haha, yea, I'm still reading some things on that link he posted, pretty good info, very informative to someone who has no clue what's going on when it comes to PSU's (read as me).
Skormm is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Amps on the 12v rails.

See, this is why I said "sorta"... The main Amps/Volts are split out to the rails... The recommended Volts and Amps on a GPU are total system values not for the GPU alone..
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU. 12v rails Thresh25 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 03-05-2009 11:32 PM
The right power supply brr077 New Systems | Building and Buying 51 12-21-2008 10:57 PM
12v Rails... Wah? commandercup New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-03-2007 02:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.