AMDs potential... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-21-2008, 12:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
colin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 206
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
NOW is the focus of the statement. Ten years ago no one had heard of AMD, and then they dominated the market. AMD may never regain that dominance, but I look for them to still pull some tricks out of their hat.

That would be a monopoly. I doubt ANY government would let it happen.

I wanted to buy a phenom when they released, I really really wanted to buy a 9600 B.E. but after comparing price/performance I just couldnt. Hopefully they do bring some new tech to the table competition is always good for the consumer.


lol maybe not officially on the monopoly thing
__________________

__________________
ASUS EeePC 1000HA
__________________________________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 / XIGMATEK HDT-S1283
GA-P35 DS3R
G.SKILL 2 x 2GB DDR2 1066
GTX 260
SG 500GB WD 640GB
Corsair VX 450W
Vista Ultimate 64-bit/X-FI Music
colin is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 01:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 16
Default Re: AMDs potential...

AMD won't die off until ATI get crush by competitors. They still can pull money to make a come back. Before AMD bought ATI, they were relying on other source of income to boost their fund; however intel realized that and jumped in, which was the reason AMD bought ATI as they need a new easier source of income.

The similar scenario went through with nintendo and sony just recently, during the ps2 generation; sony couldn't kill off nintendo because the handheld market held on long enough for nintendo to survive. The moment sony jumped into handheld hoping to not let nintendo have a breathing room, nintendo caught sony with their pants down.

Intel is going to jump into GPU market as well, and hence develop their own chipset possibly. If that happen, of anyone who die, it would be nvidia; unless they come up with something.

Just my 2 cents.
__________________

PuluPulu is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:16 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post


That would be a monopoly. I doubt ANY government would let it happen.
*cough microsoft cough*


oh and very good post pulupulu, it was a good read



oh ya, but i disagree... nvidia is winning the single gpu market atm, meaning they are leading... And while crossfire is overall better... it isnt by such a huge amount that it throws ati in the lead...

So if intel jumps into gpu's... which i have a hard time seeing them do for some reason, who knows wat will happen... most likely ATI will have problems if anyone...
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 02:59 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
I haven't looked into in a long time but I think AMD was hopeing to get fusion out in 2009 or 2010. IIRC fusion is basically getting the video card gpu and computer cpu onto one chip.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
One chip functionality. This would be a huge boon for laptops and portable devices. It may even translate into desktop chips, especially for the lower end. Once the number of cores scales up, it would be child's play to make x CPU and x GPU, or even have them interchange as need be. Imaginge a graphics intesive game uses five of eight cores, while a video conversion might take six or seven, and the chip just glides between the demands.
Intel to debut GPU-in-CPU chips in 2009 | Reg Hardware
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-21-2008, 03:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: AMDs potential...

^^^^^^^^
Hmmmmm, AMD better come out with something quick.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 12:15 PM   #16 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: AMDs potential...

AMD's coming out with a 45nm Phenom, but i doubt a CPU shrink will do anything increase performance
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 01:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
AMD's coming out with a 45nm Phenom, but i doubt a CPU shrink will do anything increase performance
what??? of course it will....it will take less power for one thing, which likely will lead to higher overclocks with less voltage.
its just like going from the 90nm windsors to the 65nm brisbane...the brisbanes tend to overclock better (or AT LEAST just as well) as the windsors with less voltage.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 07:50 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 174
Send a message via AIM to Okitasoshi
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
what??? of course it will....it will take less power for one thing, which likely will lead to higher overclocks with less voltage.
its just like going from the 90nm windsors to the 65nm brisbane...the brisbanes tend to overclock better (or AT LEAST just as well) as the windsors with less voltage.
yeah, but the 65NM Phenom's couldn't beat the 65NM C2Q's, so what's to say a 45NM Phenom will beat a 45NM C2Q?

I'd love to see AMD add in some more features in Phenom before the 45NM jump so that it'll be competing, but even then by the time they come out with 45NM Phenom Intel will be far ahead of the game.

What AMD should have done was jumped straight to 45NM with Phenom. and what they should do now imo, is start creating the next gen Die Shrink (35Nm? or something?) and in the mean time come out with a phenom 45nm within 4-6months. And hopefully the next gen 35NM core's will outperform whatever Intel has.
Okitasoshi is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:01 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Not long before we start getting into angstroms

This is crazy.

Yes, nvidia dieing... that would be fun >
__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMDs potential...

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
what??? of course it will....it will take less power for one thing, which likely will lead to higher overclocks with less voltage.
its just like going from the 90nm windsors to the 65nm brisbane...the brisbanes tend to overclock better (or AT LEAST just as well) as the windsors with less voltage.
i forget, when does the 45nm Phenoms come out? This year?

im still waiting to see if the 9700 n 9900 can turn the tide against Intel in Q2 2008.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone Has Potential Security Problems Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 09-21-2007 10:53 AM
AMD's Opteron hits 3.2GHz veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 08-07-2007 12:40 AM
Watercooled e6420 Potential??? alexsabree Overclocking and Modding 4 07-21-2007 03:05 PM
Corsair XMS2 not working to full potential midi9191 Overclocking and Modding 15 07-03-2007 12:44 PM
New Computer Processor Has The Potential Of Reaching Trillions Of Calculations Per Se b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 20 05-01-2007 08:20 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.