AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 - Page 8 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2007, 10:41 AM   #71 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

roger that. i agree indeed.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 03:36 PM   #72 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
awesome! great analogy bmxfreakrider, wo0t!
p.s. i hate math.
i agree.... good analogy.. as for hating math.. don't forget Overclocking is a Math!!!
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:19 PM   #73 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

How did I get the reputation as an intel fan boy by thinking this is fake?
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:23 PM   #74 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

its okay to like a certain company over another, thats what i say.
product loyalty counts for something in my opinion.
im a fanboy, there are lots of them here heh.
as far as the article, i am just hopin its not fake, but i guess we will see pretty soon.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:36 PM   #75 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

hey, thanks man, i did that half asleep trying to get to bed! lol couldnt think of anything.

well, the article could be fake, we can't prove it untill somebody gets an identical setup and overclock it the say way with the same parts exactly, and see what the real numbers are.

also what adds into the factor is what programs are installed on the pc. if it has nothing at all installed, just a bare install with glass and everything off, and no eye candy, it could be possible, but again, we cant prove it until we test it ourselvs. the fact that The Inquirer has some fake stuff is like crying wolf, they have done it so many times, it could be fake, but it could also be true. but the performance jump of the system also has to take into consideration the efficency of the core,

or in car terms: better fuel.

I have noticed by overclocking my fsb by 20% to achive a 2.4ghz will increase my performance on 3dmark by 15%, but on a p3 that i have, a 20%, (1.2ghz) i only yeild a 8% increase. ocing the gpu lets me get better results, but it has to be fine tuned.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:51 PM   #76 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

I'm pretty sure the article is fake, because the current wr with HD2900xt's in crossfire is 22224. I just can't see that this processor is going to make up for 8000 points.

EDIT: this is according to hwbot
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:00 PM   #77 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

at the same time the inquierer did claim the 8800gtx would put u up to 12000 points, and no one beleived that a video card would bring you up that high, but look at people with 8800gtx. they score right around that general area.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:48 PM   #78 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridlyn View Post
I'm pretty sure the article is fake, because the current wr with HD2900xt's in crossfire is 22224. I just can't see that this processor is going to make up for 8000 points.
no, the current world record is over 27,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxfreakrider View Post
I have noticed by overclocking my fsb by 20% to achive a 2.4ghz will increase my performance on 3dmark by 15%, but on a p3 that i have, a 20%, (1.2ghz) i only yeild a 8% increase. ocing the gpu lets me get better results, but it has to be fine tuned.
Like I said, scaling also has to be taken into consideration.

The K10's do have HyperTransport 3.0, which is much faster than current HyperTransport. Plus, I'm pretty sure the new chipset they used supports PCI-E 2.0

Even with those two things alone, scaling would be significantly better than K8 processors - and even K8 processors have better scaling than Core 2's. It's just that Core 2's have a better IPC rating, and can overclock to a higher degree.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 11:10 AM   #79 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
no, the current world record is over 27,000
Like I said, scaling also has to be taken into consideration.

The K10's do have HyperTransport 3.0, which is much faster than current HyperTransport. Plus, I'm pretty sure the new chipset they used supports PCI-E 2.0

Even with those two things alone, scaling would be significantly better than K8 processors - and even K8 processors have better scaling than Core 2's. It's just that Core 2's have a better IPC rating, and can overclock to a higher degree.
Sorry for being skeptical but link pls.

EDIT: Nevermind i found it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 09-03-2007, 01:48 PM   #80 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Fudzilla - Phenom 3GHz won’t hit 30K in 3Dmark06
__________________

__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.