AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 09:37 PM   #41 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron
After all, they made the assertion this hardware was capable of such benchmarks, its their job to support it with evidence, not mine to disprove it.
Very true. But we shall soon see, as the release is only a couple of weeks away. I saw something about the chips starting into the channel in a few days.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:38 PM   #42 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
The Inquirer is the only source in the net that claimed that DX9.0L is DX10 for Windows XP

If Microsoft did consider making DirectX 10 for XP called DX9.0L. Then why other sources like dailytech, techreport etc didn't mention that ?
Because TheInquirer is willing to put up unconfirmed stories that others aren't. That's why they're sometimes wrong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
And why would Microsoft call the DX10 version of XP "DX9.0L" ?? Why not DX10 instead of DX9.0L ? Don't you feel that there is something wrong with The Inquirer ??
Maybe it lacks features?


Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
And yes I can't believe that his laptop was stolen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
First: The Inquirer claimed that 3GHz K10 scores much more than 5GHz C2Q !! Which is unbelievable because if you do math the K10 would be twice as fast per clock in 3dmarks.
Many people said the same thing before C2D came out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Even the Athlon64 was only 1.5 the speed of Pentium 4 per clock not 2 times the speed.
And?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
If K10 is 2 times the speed per clock compared to Intel C2D then K10 would be even more that 2 times the speed of K8
And?

First, this is a K10 quad core they're benchmarking (compared to a K8 dual core)

Also remember this is only one particular type of benchmark.
I seem to remember one or two very specific cases where the 45nm Intel chips performed about twice as fast as current gen chips. But their average was around about 10-20%.

Quote:
Second: He claimed that his laptop was stolen. What a coincidence ?? Doesn't this make you feel that The Inquirer is hiding something ?
There were many things suspicious about the Conroe benchmarks when they were first made, too.

Quote:
After all, they made the assertion this hardware was capable of such benchmarks, its their job to support it with evidence, not mine to disprove it.
Does anybody else here not see the parallels with Conroe release?

Yes, it's not a confirmed case. You have a right to be suspicious. Just like people had a right to be suspicious of Conroe benchmarks before release.

Quote:
yeah but that xeon had faster ram, and it also is clocked higher. they did say that the xeon was 58% faster with a 50% faster clock speed. so, at the same clock speed, with the same ram....which would be faster i wonder? i dont think that the ram would make up the 8% if they were running the same clock speed, but it might.
i know one thing for sure...its faster than k8.
EDIT:
now, im no mathematical genius...
but how does that equal 58% faster? its 58% (actually i calculate 62% faster 17/27?) faster than 17 seconds, not 58% faster than 27seconds. where does 58% come from?
27 - 17 = 10, right?
its only 37% (27 - 17 = 10 / 27)faster than 27 seconds...and the intels clock speed is 50% more than the amd.
i could be horribly wrong here lol...english and language are my strong points, not math, heh.
(27 / 17) x 100 = 158.82%

But anyway, you have a valid point. the Xeon was clocked faster.

Not only that, but that was an early version of K10.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:40 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Very true. But we shall soon see, as the release is only a couple of weeks away. I saw something about the chips starting into the channel in a few days.
2 weeks????
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 09:40 PM   #44 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Mid-September for the server chips.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 10:11 PM   #45 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

lol, i dont care what anybody says. Im AMD/NVIDIA all the way, until i can afford a new ati card, then i will have a matching amd/ati combo, but till then, i love nvidia
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:01 AM   #46 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

wait i read the reivew again, and got a comment. it seems like they did the test at amd, and why in amd's rightfull mind would they let them overclock their system? and how come every part that was in it, seemed like they knew ooh so well, and why would amd let them overclock the best video cards on the market? and their numbers are tooo exact. something is wrong with this picture.

oh wait, they said their own k10 system. how in the **** would they get a system that isnt even available to the public and not have other copies of the data, like printed ****, or something like that, 35mm pics, instant camera pics, **** even a letter from amd about the cpu that they loaned to them....too many quirks in their thing. **** shipping lables or something would even be acceptable proof!
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:19 AM   #47 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Apokalipse, it seems you can't accept that this is bull.. Come on now.. yeah there is a CHANCE that it's real but it would be like winning the lottery 1 in 60mil or something.

There are SO many suspicious things about this:
1) How the eff could they post this without getting serious crap at them by AMD? If amd gave them a sample they would've been under NDA

2) This would be a WAY higher speed jump compared to k8 vs c2d and the k8/c2d one was a pretty big leap itself. k8 is nowhere near twice as slow as c2ds

3) Laptop got stolen? lol

4) This would be a WAY higher speed jump compared to k8 vs c2d and the k8/c2d one was a pretty big leap itself. k8 is nowhere near twice as slow as c2ds

5) I don't understand what this means

"but before that happened we asked AMD if it would let us run memory benchmark scores on a system there. The reps gave us the company line and declined, so we decided to disclose the benchmark scores of our own K10 benchmarking here and now."

So they had a system of their own with a k10 or what? What the heck do they mean their "own" benchmarking?

6) I didn't see before that the 6k difference included the gpu overclocks and the .5 cpu increase but that's still pretty rediculous.. It's not like they did a huge overclock, only to 830/1800 from 740/1650

7) It's the INQUIRER! Why the heck are you sympathizing for them? Yeah a lot of their articles are true but 95% of their true ones are just a link to another website. If they didn't have any true ones they wouldn't have any traffic to look at their fake ones that always seem to be about something significant. And they put out a LOT of articles that were definitively pulled out of their ace (that obviously aren't things that just weren't 100% confirmed yet)

end thread
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 01:49 AM   #48 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

lol the intel boys who are suh-wettin.
dude you are fools for thinking that amd has no answer to c2d.
foolish i say!
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 02:34 AM   #49 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

hey, intel might be topping the charts right now, but think of it like an argument between cars. two guys, one has a classic mustang, and one has a classic corvette. both are gonna be upgrading and improving until theirs is better then they will hold off and gloat over the victory until the other takes first, then the battle starts over......

its been this way for a while...intel, then amd, then intel, then amd, etc....back and fourth tug of war, its just a freaking battle that leaves us, the enthusiast consumer begging the companies to fight more violently and create some serious performance, like the c2d when then k8 was out, now we are going to have the k10, then they will have the c3d, then k12, etc....down the line untill we have a k64 and a c29o (a 8 core cpu, maybe? or how about a 64bit 64 core 64ghz cpu...oohhhh the possibilities!) only the future will tell. lets just hold off until the k10 rolls of the line and we can try it ourselves, i would buy one just to settle the argument even if i had to pull 3 jobs in one day, plus night shifts all while figuring out how to take care of my schooling and stuff.
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 03:38 AM   #50 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Thats not a good analogy since a Corvette flat out pwns a Mustang

In any case I wouldn't be surprised if we found out the inquirer isn't being on the level. But it also wouldn't surprise me if AMD K10 is that fast.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.