AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06 - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2007, 04:20 PM   #31 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

I don't think that the inquirer flat out lies, but I do think they post unconfirmed stories so they can claim to have reported it first. However these articles are not always right. They do seem to be right most of the time and I really hope they are this time. I'm hoping to build a new comp early next year and I would love for a new great tech to come before then.

I built my last comp 3 months before c2d came out and now I'm upset because I'm stuck with a skt 939
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 05:19 PM   #32 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03
I don't think that the inquirer flat out lies, but I do think they post unconfirmed stories so they can claim to have reported it first. However these articles are not always right. They do seem to be right most of the time and I really hope they are this time.
Exactly. TheInq is not afraid to run with the ball, and have consequently made a few mistakes with some stories. there's not a news service out there who hasn't done the same thing. At least Mike and the boys do try to find the latest and bring it to the fore. I guess that's why several of the tech companies are reluctant to let TheInq anywhere near a press conference... they know that they will get the word out ASAP.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 06:16 PM   #33 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
When running at 2.5GHz, the 3DMark06 score ended at 23.768, so we were thrilled to see such a good score coming from two 512MB cards. This showed the clear potential of this four core processor marchitecture, but the helter skelter ride happened after we overclocked the processor to 3.0GHz.

When clocked at 3.0 GHz and equipped with two overclocked HD2900XT cards in CrossFire, Agena FX or single-core Barcelona smashed an index of 30,000 3DMarks 06. Yes, you’ve read it right - the barrier of 30,000 was passed to, barely, 30.031.
So a .5ghz clock increase caused over a 6k 3dmark difference? No way. I'd bet my life on it that this article came out of the Inq's butt, even if the phenoms really do lay eggs on c2ds
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 06:30 PM   #34 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
So a .5ghz clock increase caused over a 6k 3dmark difference? No way. I'd bet my life on it that this article came out of the Inq's butt, even if the phenoms really do lay eggs on c2ds
it wasn't just the 0.5GHZ clock increase, if you actually read it.
Quote:
When clocked at 3.0 GHz and [b]equipped with two overclocked HD2900XT cards in CrossFire[b]
which were clocked at 930mhz

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
TheInquirer have lied to us many times
Here we go


Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
The Inquire claimed once that R600 is going to have 64-pipelines !!!
ATI's R600 has 64 real pipes
Quote:
We previously wrote that the chip will have sixty four Shader units but we never realised at the time that the design is actually built around a full sixty four physical pipes. That is what various high-ranking sources are telling us.
I would say that he genuinely did believe that. And I am thinking that R600 might have actually been planned for 64 pipelines at some stage, but then changed later on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Not only that but The Inquire claimed that DirectX 9.L will be a DirectX 10 for Windows XP !!!
DirectX 9.L will be a DirectX 10 for Windows XP
Which he believed, also.

I would say that Microsoft probably did consider making DirectX 10 for XP in some form, but decided against it later on.

See, that's what a lot of companies do. they change their minds.
Intel changed their mind to stop using Netburst, and stop their pursuit of 5GHZ with Prescott etc.. just one example.

There was a genuine look at "reverse hyperthreading" by some of the people at AMD. It just never went ahead.

I think TheInquirer did actually find out about the ATI/AMD merger, for example

Quote:
There many and many other fake news from The Inquirer
I don't think they're fake. I think he genuinely believes (or did believe at one point) the articles he writes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
LOL ^^ !!

Have any one read this sentence ^^ from the THE INQUIRER ?? !!

This is an evidence that this news from THE INQUIRER is a ********
What, you can't believe that a Laptop can get stolen?

Plenty of hardware got stolen from the guys who broke the 3Dmark06 world record.

If this article turns out to be false, I'll concede. But this does remind me of the days before C2D's release.
Quote:
Originally Posted by UA_Iron View Post
if he could afford the dual 2900XT's

he could afford a lowjack device for his laptop.
I can afford plenty of things that I don't get.

*edited*
fixed quote tags
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 06:53 PM   #35 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

dude Apokalipse, u sound almost like a computer geeky guru lol.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:07 PM   #36 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

The Inquirer is the only source in the net that claimed that DX9.0L is DX10 for Windows XP

If Microsoft did consider making DirectX 10 for XP called DX9.0L. Then why other sources like dailytech, techreport etc didn't mention that ?

And why would Microsoft call the DX10 version of XP "DX9.0L" ?? Why not DX10 instead of DX9.0L ? Don't you feel that there is something wrong with The Inquirer ??

And yes I can't believe that his laptop was stolen.
First: The Inquirer claimed that 3GHz K10 scores much more than 5GHz C2Q !! Which is unbelievable because if you do math the K10 would be twice as fast per clock in 3dmarks. Even the Athlon64 was only 1.5 the speed of Pentium 4 per clock not 2 times the speed. If K10 is 2 times the speed per clock compared to Intel C2D then K10 would be even more that 2 times the speed of K8

Second: He claimed that his laptop was stolen. What a coincidence ?? Doesn't this make you feel that The Inquirer is hiding something ?
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:15 PM   #37 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

ِAs far as I know AMD barcelona are based on K10

If K10 was very powerful, then why Barcelona performed worse than Xeon quad core in Cinebench according to dailytech ??

DailyTech - Quick and Dirty AMD K10 Cinebench
maroon1 is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:23 PM   #38 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

yeah but that xeon had faster ram, and it also is clocked higher. they did say that the xeon was 58% faster with a 50% faster clock speed. so, at the same clock speed, with the same ram....which would be faster i wonder? i dont think that the ram would make up the 8% if they were running the same clock speed, but it might.
i know one thing for sure...its faster than k8.
EDIT:
now, im no mathematical genius...
but how does that equal 58% faster? its 58% (actually i calculate 62% faster 17/27?) faster than 17 seconds, not 58% faster than 27seconds. where does 58% come from?
27 - 17 = 10, right?
its only 37% (27 - 17 = 10 / 27)faster than 27 seconds...and the intels clock speed is 50% more than the amd.
i could be horribly wrong here lol...english and language are my strong points, not math, heh.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:54 PM   #39 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Laptops are stolen every day. My boss had both his work lappy and his personal lappy stolen from his car in broad daylight. So, accepting the fact that dude's laptop was stolen is no big deal for me. I would have emailed the pics to myself, though, to be safe.

Why is it so hard to admit that AMD might actually bring out a good chip, maroon? Was the Athlon a bust? Or the 64 line? or even the X2's? Admittedly the AM2 weren't a whole lot better than the 939's to begin with, but they have gone a lot further than the 939 did now.

An overclocked native quad core pushing overclocked 2900XT's in Crossfire... hitting 30K doesn't sound that preposterous to me.

[sarcasm]Oh, it wasn't an Intel...? BLASPHEMY!!!!! [/sarcasm]
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:57 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: AMD's 3GHz K10 to break 30,000 3DMark06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
What, you can't believe that a Laptop can get stolen?

Plenty of hardware got stolen from the guys who broke the 3Dmark06 world record.

If this article turns out to be false, I'll concede. But this does remind me of the days before C2D's release.
I can afford plenty of things that I don't get.

*edited*
fixed quote tags
some proof would be nice.

After all, they made the assertion this hardware was capable of such benchmarks, its their job to support it with evidence, not mine to disprove it.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.