amd x2 and pentium d - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default amd x2 and pentium d

am i right the amd athlon 64 x2 4800 is 2 cores running at 2400 making the total 4.8ghz

also is the intel pentium d840 2 cores running at 3.2ghz making the total 6.4ghz

if im right the intel is faster than the amd running at 6.4 compared to the amd running at 4.8
__________________

robina_80 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 10:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

OK, for one, never compare Intel and AMD clock speeds, because of the difference in effiency. For two, 3.2ghz is the is TOTAL speed, and the Athlon x2 4800 is 2 cores running at a speed I am not sure of, but is EQUAL to an Intel running at 4.8ghz.

You have a lot to learn, young padawan.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 4800+ is actually 2 4000+'s
it is a bit better than a 4000+ in single tasking, but almost twice as good when multitasking
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 11:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: LONDON
Posts: 902
Send a message via MSN to robina_80
Default

any more views on this much appreciated
robina_80 is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 11:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=69422

I've explained there why Intel's and AMD's CPU's performance is not measured by their clock speeds
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.