amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2008, 04:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

Hey guys,

First post here,

I just purchased a 9800gx2 and am running an MSI k9n diamond (1000 mhz FSB) and an AMD x2 2.4ghz processor. With 4 gigs of kingston 800mhz ddr2, sata 120gb HD (3 years old) and an 850w OCZ gameXstream (possiblity for 8 pin mobo connection)

I want to know if I should just spend 120 dolllars for the new processor keep the board, or go all out on an intel or amd quad core, or core duo and OC it to around 3.6ish... I am currently playing warhammer at 1920 res..... and am noticing my cpu (which I think is my cpu) under serious stress... So what should I do what will give me the most noticable difference and bang for my buck. My budget is 400-450 for board/proc any input would be very appreciated.
__________________

stell4r is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

welcome to tf.
try overclocking it first. unless you really want new stuff.
if that is the case, q9550 and p45, standard fare. to be had for under 500 bucks.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

So I guess Quad core isnt even an option at this point? it seems like everyone is pushing me away from quad is the raw mhz rating so much more important than FSB? and HT/MT times
stell4r is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

the q9550 is a quad. i would say if you are going to drop 4-500 bones, DEFINITELY get a quad-core.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Which intel board should I get that will be (if I want in the future) SLI ready I mean QUad sli becuase I will most likely get another 9800gx2 two weeks after the new mobo/cpu

What do you think about DDR3 systems I just priced a system on NCIX.com for 500 dollars I could get ddr3 ram @ 2gigs asus MOBO with an intel quad core proc
stell4r is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

the only decent SLI mobo ATM (that i know of) is the 750FTW from evga.
ddr3 is overpriced for the performance difference between it and ddr2, but link the deal and i will check it out and let you know.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.

Those are the selections..... What do you think? 500-600 dollar budget... so Ram/Mobo/CPU

I also dont realy need SLI on the board if worse came to worse I would upgrade with an ATI xfire set up.
stell4r is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

i wouldnt do ddr3. i'd do a 9950 and a p45 mobo and keep the 4gb of 800. or, depending on your monitor resolution and if you are going to crossfire HIGH end cards, you could go x48 on the mobo. the p45 will crossfire two of any cards and work well at resolutions 1920 x 1200 and under. over 1920 x 1200 you probably want to get an x48.
man....canada is expensive....i suggested the q9550, but it is a bit cheaper here...
here are some choices that will fit your budget:
NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.
and
NCIX.com - Buy ASUS P5Q Pro ATX LGA775 P45 DDR2 2PCI-E16 CrossFire 3PCI-E1 2PCI SATA2 Sound GBLAN eSATA Motherboard - P5Q Pro In Canada.
a little over 450.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

How did you get your quad core clocked at 2.5ghz to 3.75 thats insane... and if I were to get the same cpu would I be able to do something like that sans the coolingsystem?
stell4r is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 07:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: amd x2 2.4ghz to x2 3.1ghz OR New mobo and processor

Not every chip overclocks the same.. one could be real lucky and one really not
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
45nm AMD Processor for AM3 only maroon1 New Technology and Products 44 05-26-2008 05:41 PM
Mobo and processor upgrade. gazvenn New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-14-2007 02:21 AM
AMD mobo + cpu QuaziBee New Systems | Building and Buying 10 09-27-2007 05:14 PM
WTB Processor for LGA 775 MOBO DerekGoodson Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 06-06-2007 07:55 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.