AMD vs. Intel - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2006, 09:53 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

well it turns out my dad wants to buy a mac(ew) now instead of building a pc . so now i have some time before i get enough money to build my own pc. this is good. now i can wait for the new intels to come out and see how well they do. i am starting to kinda lean twords intel right now, but still not completly sure. they seem like they are stepping it up to compete. well see.
__________________

mothergoose is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 09:55 PM   #32 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

They are but they still suck in todays standards but come a few months.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:05 PM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to wxt38
Default

i lean towards the best which is AMD , AMD kick Intel's *** right now, intell generate more heat, use more watts, and process almost always slower than AMD. amd's 90nm cores even beat intel's 65nm cores.
wxt38 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:08 PM   #34 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wxt38
i lean towards the best which is AMD , AMD kick Intel's *** right now
Yes, right now. Wait till july and august, when the new intel cores come out. The tables are very likely to turn then.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:15 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Default Re:AMD

I've just built my first rig with a AMD 64 X 2 3800 and have it clocked to 2750Mhz, and I'm a noob. Buy some good ram and your cook'in!!!! Got to change my sig... Upgraded to OCZ Platinums...
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
EVGA 7900 GTX
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 10:40 PM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

There is already a topic devoted to this discussion, please continue as you were there
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.