AMD vs Intel - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2008, 10:10 PM   #31 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

...and?
lol....
the 6600 isnt even tested on that benchmark link.
and the 5000 clocks higher than the 6000's stock speed, and the 6000 aint very far behind.
lets not turn this into AMD vs intel. i'm saying that his cpu isnt the problem, because i have it, and i know.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:13 AM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

sooo my monitor is the bottleneck.. can i adjust the refresh rate on my monitor somehow? or is it stuck like that.

What do you think of the E8400 processor then nagasma? because I've been planning to upgrade... but if it is my monitor that is the problem, i just need a new monitor.. lol

This is the monitor I have

Newegg.com - SAMSUNG 906BW Black-Silver 19" 2 ms (GTG) Widescreen LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 2000:1 DC - LCD Monitors

I guess LCD displays are locked at 60hz??
What if I were to link the display with the DVI-D cable and not the VGA/D-sub cable

It just seems kind of weird that most LCD monitors are 60 Hertz.. so almost everybody would be having this problem...
__________________

__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 02:58 AM   #33 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

most lcd monitors are 60mhz. some 1280 x 1040 are 75mhz.
my 24" is 60.
crt monitors have a higher refresh rate than lcds.
the funny thing is, this is an issue for pretty much anyone that doesnt have a huge monitor, or a really old cpu. you just never hear about it, because then hardware wouldn't sell i guess.
i like the 8400. as a matter of fact, i am torn between getting an e8400 or a 9850 phenom.
but, i'm not considering it to actually improve my gaming experience...because its not going to...likely i will see no change.
im thinking of getting it because:
a. i would like to have a kick-boodie overclocker, besides my 5000BE.
b. i would like the experience from overclocking an intel, which i have never done
c. i am going to put my 5000 to folding maybe.
d. i want a good benchmark chip (vain...i know lol).
e. i can get an 8400 and an asus p5q pro mobo for like 320 (newegg) and thats pretty cheap.
f. pretty much all i do is game and encode the occasional dvd. so, i dont really need a quad core. and i am hesitant to buy the 9850 because it is hot and not the best overclocker. but it is a great chip in any event. if i go with the 8400, i will be looking at the 45nm AMDs when they come out. i like new stuff.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:08 AM   #34 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
at 1920x1200.. i think SLi is needd if you like throwing in high anti-aliasing.. high meaning 8xQSAA and 16xAF ... with those in certain games.. SLi is needed... but if you care not of filters.. then 1 single gts will get the job done no doubt
i play 1920 x 1200 4x 8/16x and those are the frames i get. i guess cranking the aa up to x8 would drop it a bit, but no discernable difference in appearance.
if i uncap the frames, sli will give me a substantial increase in fps. with frames capped (or vsync on) and a single card max settings, frames rarely drop below 60. with sli, they never drop below 60.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:17 AM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

I'm getting really confused with this stuff right now... haha
here is what I'm planning doing. Getting the evga 750i ftw mobo and a E8400. Now with the 750i there aren't any SATA slots, is this really needed? Would it make that much of a difference if the hdd is hooked through sata or ide?
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:24 AM   #36 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

it has 4 sata ports.
yes, there is a difference. maybe not a big one, but definitely a difference.
and i've read that mobo has serious video issues. you may want to look into that.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 03:52 AM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 361
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

really? damnit this stuff is so annoying. I can't figure out which board to get... I read through some of the reviews on Newegg and they seem pretty solid. I'm looking at the EVGA 750i FTW, which seems to be a nicer board than the ASUS 750i's

how about this: Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF68-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
with a E8400 and 2g of ddr2 1066 ram
__________________

Q6600@3.6 / 8800gts G92 / 2g Kingston Hyperx / 3dmark:16,000
BonKerz is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:12 AM   #38 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

i have a 680i A1 i could sell you.. even is pencil modded so you're voltage on the board doesnt drop as much!!

i'd even sell it for 100 dollars shipped to you!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:12 AM   #39 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

if you knew my history with evga, you'd know that i would never suggest any of their products. certainly not their mobos.
anyways...i'm not the best intel motherboard advisor. im sure one of the other guys here can help you better than myself.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-15-2008, 04:14 AM   #40 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: AMD vs Intel

i love my 680i... its gotten me 4.0ghz on a q6600 and q6700.. works wonders

i'd like to add i still have the sata cables, I/O shield, instructions, and IDE cable
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel lawsuit from AMD pushed to 2010, Intel Monopoly! Wildside Polls 30 06-24-2008 05:28 PM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 05:26 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.