AMD upgrading question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 05:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default AMD upgrading question

Hi all,

Currently looking into upgrading my P4 to an AMD, unfortunatly, I dont have much familiarlity with AMD so I had a few questions that someone might be able to answer for me:

My current setup is a Dell build with:

P4 3.4Ghz processor
2GB DDR 533Mhz RAM
250/80 GB WD hard drives
Nvidia 7900GTX (recently put in)

First off, I wanted to know just some basic information of what is "good" in the AMD market for a gaming rig, for my own knowledge. I have a basic understanding of the hardware (chipsets, x86 archetecture, etc.) but my concern is centered around the motherboard and if it would recognize an AMD processor instead of an Intel one. I dont have any specifics on the motherboard (gg Dell) but I can try and provide as much info as possible.

Thanks in advance for whoever responds to this.
__________________

WetbackMountain is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 05:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

sry to say but i dont think mobo's support both intel and amd.. sry if im wrong
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 05:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

well you'll need a few thing.

New case cause dell sucks
New PSu cause i dont even know how a dell's generic PSU is handeling a 7900GTX
New mobo

For the PSU go for the Antec Truepower 2.0 550w PSU
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931

for a case, go on newegg and pick out a few that fit to your style and post them and people will tell you the best one.

for mobo, you can Get an MSI K8N Neo4-F really good $80 mobo, or if you wanna go a little high end go for a DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D for around $125.

Oh and unless that Ram is DDR2 then you dont need any new stuff unless your overclocking, but if you bought aftermarket RAM post it and we'll tell you if it's good for Oc'ing or not.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 06:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default Re: AMD upgrading question

Quote:
Originally posted by WetbackMountain
2GB DDR 533Mhz RAM
not ddr2
Static_11 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 07:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Then it's not DDR 533, It's probably 2 gigs of DDR 400? Right?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 08:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Yes its DDR 400. Im just curious regarding performance since its a gaming machine and if there is any truth to the whole "AMD is better for gaming then Intel, period" I've been seeing floating around. its what put the bug in my head.
WetbackMountain is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

AMD totally kick *** in gaming right now. Switch out that dell psu for the antec that mrzucchinihead suggested for sure. Depending on your price range, low = MSI K8N Neo4, Med = DFI UT Ultra-D, High = Asus A8N SLI Premium. For a gaming CPU, i would get a dual core AMD 3800 X2 for 300 bucks. It should do you well for a while. Plus, that would be a kick *** gaming rig
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Before you order anything, make sure you can remove the motherboard. I do believe some Dells (older ones at least) actually had the motherboard glued into the case.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 84
Default

Welcome to the forum, WetbackMountain.

As stated above, Intel and AMD use completely different slots for the their processors; one won't fit the other. So, the first thing that you will require is a new mobo w/slot 939. I would suggest DFI, even if you don't OC. They have a killer BIOS. Then, comes the processor.

Here it depends on your budget. If you go with an AMD 64, you will get better performance with less GHz's than what you have now. The reason is, AMD 64's have the memory controler on the die. Therefore, the memory controler runs at the speed of the processor.

You have two choices: a) single core or b) dual core. I recently purchased the X2 4800+. It is 2.4GHz. The dual core is great if you muli-task. However, they are more expensive. The dual core will future proof your computer, because the technology is just now getting in full-swing. Only a few games take advantage of both cores at present, but developers are beginning to crank them out.

Go to this link for some good info on processors:

http://www.rose-hulman.edu/~freemawa.../cpu/index.php
__________________
- COOLER MASTER Wave Master TAC-T01-E1C Silver Case
- DFI LanpartyUT nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS = latest)
- AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 1GHz HT 2 x 1MB L2 Cache
- OCZ 2GB (2 X 1024) DDR (500) PC-4000 EL Gold Gamer Ext. XTC (OCZ5002048ELGEGXT-K)
- OCZ PowerStream OCZ520ADJSLI ATX, BTX, EPS12V 520W
- XFX Geforce 7900 GTX 512MB (665/1630)
- HITACHI Deskstar 7K80 80GB 3.5\" SATA 3.0Gb/s x 2 (RAID)
old_geekster50 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks very much for the advice all. It has helped me out tons
__________________

WetbackMountain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.