AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2007, 02:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
wolfdale is a 45nm process quad-core
Wolfdale is a 45nm process dual-core, not quad-core

Yorkfield is a 45nm quad core processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRDCorolla1 View Post
Wait a minute. Isn't Barcelona the same thing as Penryn?
Barcelona is AMD new server processor, and it is called Opteron, not Phenom

I think phenom will come out late this year (maybe in December)
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:46 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

oh good catch.. dang ur smartness!!! but correct
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:57 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
TRDCorolla1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: California
Posts: 383
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

But are they based on the same architecture though?
__________________
Today is yesterday's future....
TRDCorolla1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 05:56 PM   #24 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

AMD owns period.

sry i had to say that
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
gonna be like socket 939 and AM2 all over again.

They introduce the a new socket AM2+ with DDR2, then again another socket for DDR3.
AM2 w/DDR2 -> AM2+ w/DDR2/DDR3 -> AM3 w/DDR3

AM2 CPUs will work on AM2 and AM2+ boards, not sure about AM3.
AM2+ CPUs will work on AM2, AM2+, and AM3.
AM3 CPUs will work on AM3 and AM2+, not sure about AM2.

At least they are allowing them to cross over. The main problem is that technology is moving so fast that the new stuff won't work on the old chips with a lot of finagling... which costs money and takes time. Some third party vendor will probably invest in it, but don't look for Intel/AMD to slow down for it.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:30 PM   #26 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYL\X/3K View Post
AMD owns period.

sry i had to say that
Intel currently owns the market.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYL\X/3K View Post
AMD owns period.

sry i had to say that
tsk tsk tsk.. fanboyism...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:37 PM   #28 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYL\X/3K View Post
AMD owns period.

sry i had to say that
now thats not a way to make friends
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:40 PM   #29 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
now thats not a way to make friends
what friends?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 07:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
what friends?
nagasma
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD loses another executive Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-06-2007 03:42 PM
Is Vista with the 64 bit architecture even out yet? AtomicAudio Laptops and Notebooks 9 07-16-2007 08:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.