AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2007, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Cool AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Source

ok now AMD finally unveals everything about the architecture of Barcelona. This is too much to explain, is Apokalipse here to explain this in english?? lol

can someone post the pics in this thread too plz? Thx.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture





whats so hard to understand? thats english to me
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post

thx again!
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

dailytech doesn't know what it's talking about. It thinks Barcelona is K8
Quote:
L3-cache – a feat AMD has not taken advantage of since its K6-III+ and K6-2+ processors.
Actually, the L3 cache for those CPU's was not really designed to be L3 cache.

Back when they were using Socket 7/Super Socket 7, motherboard makers started to put L2 cache on their boards (which is different to CPU's today, which have L1 and L2 cache on-chip)

When K6-2+ came out, AMD decided to put L2 cache on the CPU. the "L3 cache" was actually just the L2 cache on the motherboard, which was superseded by the L2 cache on the CPU.

That is one of the big reasons why the "L3 cache" on those chips didn't really do much.

K10 will have L1, L2 and L3 cache all on the chip, More than that, it will all be on the one die, as well as all four of their cores.
And all four cores will be able to communicate with each other directly.

However, Intel's quad cores have two dies, and can't communicate with each other.
To make matters worse, they actually have to go through the northbridge to transfer data between dies (on the already restricted FSB).

The high amounts of cache is basically a way to try and compensate for that bottleneck.

It's got what I've mentioned before, including 128-bit FPU's, which can process SSE instructions in a single pass (instead of two, as well as splitting the SSE instruction in half), and one very important thing that dailytech didn't mention, which is a pipeline that can process 4 IPC.

Things like the prefetcher, 512 entry branch predictor, and virtualisation are just icing on the cake.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Will this kill the quad core, will AMD regain SUPREMEMCY!?!?
Deadpixel is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Maybe...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Maybe...
not... intel's would have to be dreadful for that..
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

are these better than intel's quads?
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:19 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

i think so, i have confidence with this one but only time will tell.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-08-2007, 03:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
are these better than intel's quads?
I think so.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD loses another executive Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-06-2007 03:42 PM
Is Vista with the 64 bit architecture even out yet? AtomicAudio Laptops and Notebooks 9 07-16-2007 08:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.