AMD unleashes the 6000+ - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2007, 08:00 AM   #81 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default

man amd keeps changing their sockets, how are we ever to upgrade to the latest and greatest, like our socket 759 it's still here 2 years later, and i can upgrade to a quad-core when i get my core 2 duo back
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 10:24 AM   #82 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Just a share...

1. If you have PC that still serves you well, be contented. Be happy ^_^ Upgrade only. Spend wise.

2. If building a new PC, consider the price point and performance. Latest doesn't mean it is also the greatest.

Even though it seems Ive been left by the tide of technology (Im still using FX-60 939 setup and still it works well), Im always contented with my AMD setup. Even though I could be easily beaten up by the C2Ds benchmarks, what matters most is how well your PC serves you in a long period of time.

Those rich kids probably dont face these kinds of decision making in setting up a system, upgrading or replacement. Whenever a new CPU or PC part comes out, they need to have it.

But for ordinary consumer like me, Id like to be more money wise. Not the latest but serves the greatest.
__________________

infernus is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 02:37 PM   #83 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vernong1992
man amd keeps changing their sockets, how are we ever to upgrade to the latest and greatest, like our socket 759 it's still here 2 years later, and i can upgrade to a quad-core when i get my core 2 duo back
umm, AM2+ amd AM3 CPU's wil still work in AM2/AM2+
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 02:48 PM   #84 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

For those who are still saying that AMD is better, just wait until April 22 and Intel will kick AMD's ***

The price of E6420 is going to be $183 only !!!



Intel CPU's doesn't only perform better than AMD but they consume less power, produce less heat and they are more overclockable. So, there is no reason for anyone to get AMD over intel (unless you are an AMD fanboy)
maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 03:00 PM   #85 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

^^lol^^
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 03:47 PM   #86 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

oh geeze.... intel is just a dirty dirty whore!!!
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 01:57 AM   #87 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
oh geeze.... intel is just a dirty dirty whore!!!
Right now its true, and it kinda worries me, im hoping AMD catches up quick, and just so you know im very neutral with the whole thing. If AMD gets put in a headlock... near monopoly, say goodbye to competitive pricing. I hope AMD can come back with something soon, it looks a bit bleak, but i hope they REALLY come back into contention here.
Inferno is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 02:01 AM   #88 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Bah so the E6300 and 6400 will be no more then. That's ok as they will go down in history as one of if not the Greatest overclocking chip ever released. I'll feel like I have an old chip then haha but no matter, the extra 2mb cache still doesn't help that much.

AMD will find it's way back into the competition but you have to admit...intel is sure being smart about everything.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 05:49 AM   #89 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
second, yes it is because they are saying its like a 6000mhz chip and the 4200 is like saying they have a 4.2ghz chip when its only runing at 2 something. so again thank you for once again proving you dont know the topic and again its to say what there chip is "like"

What about the Intel E4300, E6300, E6600? SO, what your saying is AMD is having 'false clock speeds' because they have a model number of 4200+, 5200+, 6000+ is like having 4.2Ghz, 5.2Ghz, and 6Ghz (According to you). That means the E4300 has 4.3Ghz, the E6300 has 6.3Ghz, and the E6600 has 6.6Ghz? (Based on what you said about AMD's 'False Clock Speeds')
__Camouflage__ is offline  
Old 02-24-2007, 06:00 AM   #90 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

I was a Intel Fan, then AMD fan. Now Intel fan again casue of C2D's
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.