AMD unleashes the 6000+ - Page 12 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2007, 02:45 PM   #111 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

accepted.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 03:48 PM   #112 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default

yeah, but how many people OC? remember tech-forums rep[resents a small minority or pc users. i doubt that my grandma will be pushing her dell with water cooling. the AMDs are great fopr budget jobs and they still kick windows Xp's ***.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 03:59 PM   #113 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea your right that's why I'm saying it's really whatever you choose right now.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 07:29 PM   #114 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

not many people NEEEED c2d's... but for us enthusists.... we're into that price range already and we demand performance... an x2 3800+ at stock is fine for EVERY coprate business office etc, and they're cheap. But soon the 6300 will be 111 too so yea...
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 09:08 PM   #115 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

Yea...your right an X2 3800 in my opinion is still great for pretty much everything....and at it's price right now it's almost impossible to recommend a single core anymore to anyone....even the lowest of budgets. Its true the the Core 2's are the best for the enthusiast as it's just more power in your case for benchmarks and those couple extra minutes in encoding or things, but it's true that the X2 line still is just as competitive pricing right now as the Core's and I still recommend them to a lot of people in builds.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 10:40 PM   #116 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

they are great...and yeah for a 7-800 dollar complete build, you just cant beat them (like that x2 3800 build you suggested in another post sora).
lol i just wish i could break that 3ghz/30 sec mark in superpi with mine....maybe with a new foxconn mobo i have heard so much about...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 12:16 AM   #117 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Inferno
They are obviously working on it... but i dont see anything out yet.
that's because they're working on it. They can't finish working on it, then go back in time to release it before they've finished working on it.

Anyway, read the link on Barcelona above.

Barcelona looks like it's going to really give Core 2 a run for its money.

Quote:
Originally posted by zmatt
nagasama is right on that. the conroes arent just 100% better than the existing AMDs. yes they are an improvement but its not a world changing situation.
Thank you.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.