AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2007, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

DailyTech - AMD "Spider" Crawls Up the Water Spout

AMD delays Phenom 2.4 GHz due to TLB errata - The INQUIRER

both, even theinqurier say the 9700 is delayed so it must be true. I am very sadden about this n i guess i have no choice but to get the 9600 instead .

i know Apokalipse is upset. I'm sure some of u r upset but hey, at least AMD did pull an Intel:

"In a weird deja-vu, it turns out that the company found an errata in the TLB (Transition Lookaside Buffer), just like Intel did earlier this year with complete Core marchitecture. However, unlike Intel, that has a micro-code update function in all of its CPUs, AMD is forced to delay the introduction of the part."

---quoted from theinquirer (idk how to quote like b1gapl so i apologize)

OFF TOPIC:

btw, i was given an opportunity from my parents to chose 2-4 parts i believe to get my computer up n running again, so this means i cant game without a decent graphics card to use due to my choice to wait for the HD 3870 x2. Omg i am so relieved! However, this might be changed to only get SMB for Wii, 2 classic controllers, n 2 Wii points cards so idk what is going to happen tonight.

it's my bday today n so far the day has been boring lol. I did go to Best Buy n Circuit City to look at HDTVs n SMG for Wii but couldnt find the game .
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

oh great... lets hope they aren't as nearly bad as everything else named after spider.

like Line 6 spider amps

D:

come on ATI, kick Nvidias ***!
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 12:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
oh great... lets hope they aren't as nearly bad as everything else named after spider.

like Line 6 spider amps

D:

come on ATI, kick Nvidias ***!
well.........think if it this way..........it was a last minute call n if they hadnt, then probably flaws would appear ONLY on the 9700, so they need more work on it. It consumes 125w instead of 90w, so it has something up it's sleeve that the 9500 n 9600 cant do.

idk, just a guess.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

Happy BD! ust forget about this constant waiting for a moment - go get drunk with friends or something.
fhasser is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 04:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

This is the most important part:
Quote:
"The Translation Lookaside Buffer (TLB) errata is an L3 protocol issue causing a system hang when running certain client workload applications independent of platform. AMD is immediately introducing an updated BIOS which will correct the TLB errata".

This problem was found during speed-binning the B2 revision processors, and this was the cause for the Phenom FX 3.0 GHz delay. It turns out that some CPUs running at 2.4 GHz or above in some benchmarking combinations, while all four cores are running at 100% load, can cause a system freeze.

While benchmark software vendors had some problems detecting how new memory controller work - both SiSoft Sandra XII and Everest 4.20 were returning single-channel results, regardless of memory controller being used in SC/DC, dual-72-bit or 144-bit- we are still shocked to learn of this situation, that will end up with dire consequences for AMD's management.

AMD already issued a fix to all of its motherboard/system partners, so if you already own a 790FX motherboard or plan to buy a Phenom system, make sure to update the BIOS.
If I get a new motherboard, it'll most likely be the MSI K9A2 Platinum. So it looks like I'll need to find a BIOS update for it if I get it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-19-2007, 05:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: AMD "Spider" and the delay of Phenom 9700

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
well.........think if it this way..........it was a last minute call n if they hadnt, then probably flaws would appear ONLY on the 9700, so they need more work on it. It consumes 125w instead of 90w, so it has something up it's sleeve that the 9500 n 9600 cant do.

idk, just a guess.
i agree i think there must be sumthing different about the 9700 otherwise why the delay? it would basically be just the same but higher clocks
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.