AMD is in the soup, again. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2015, 05:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
..m.0,0.m..
 
iPwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ::1
Posts: 73
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Article
AMD's multi-core Bulldozer chips use a unique design that combines the functions of what would normally be two discrete cores into a single package, which the company calls a module. Each module is identified as two separate cores in Windows, but the cores share a single floating point unit and instruction and execution resources. This is different from Intel's cores, which feature independent FPUs.

The suit claims that Bulldozer's design means its cores cannot work independently, and as a result, cannot perform eight instructions simultaneously and independently. This, the claim continues, results in performance degradation, and average consumers in the market for a CPU lack the technical expertise to understand the design of AMD's processors and trust the company to give accurate specifications regarding its CPUs.
*looks at signature*



^ actual picture of the AMD fanboy inside me dying a little
__________________

__________________
AMD FX8350 Black | ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2 | 16GB Corsair Ballistix Sport
2x R9 270X (CrossFire) | 256GB SSD + 1TB | Powered by Corsair CX750M

I am serious, and don't call me Shirley
iPwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 06:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,299
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

I've been saying it forever now, and even put this in my long article stickied ironically to the top of this sub-forum. Windows actually identifies them as 8 logical processors and 4 cores, because that's exactly what they are. They are not full cores, otherwise AMD could shut them down individually and wouldn't need Microsoft to prepare a different scheduler just to help the gimped cores out (because BD/PD/SR all use an out of phase scheduler due to execution from the FPU as split threads need to be executed on the same module or else the pipeline is too long and it has to start over).
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 08:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,510
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

#CoreGate
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 10:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
..m.0,0.m..
 
iPwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: ::1
Posts: 73
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I've been saying it forever now, and even put this in my long article stickied ironically to the top of this sub-forum.
Nice article too!

Boy is my face red......

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Windows actually identifies them as 8 logical processors and 4 cores, because that's exactly what they are. They are not full cores, otherwise AMD could shut them down individually and wouldn't need Microsoft to prepare a different scheduler just to help the gimped cores out (because BD/PD/SR all use an out of phase scheduler due to execution from the FPU as split threads need to be executed on the same module or else the pipeline is too long and it has to start over).
I've been an AMD fanboy since ... 2001 when I got my first Athlon Thunderbird (even had the axia stepping for those who know why that's special). What a load of crap for a company, and especially a company you've supported so long to use deceitful sales tactics. Looks like I'll be putting my name in that hat and using the money towards an Intel chip
__________________
AMD FX8350 Black | ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2 | 16GB Corsair Ballistix Sport
2x R9 270X (CrossFire) | 256GB SSD + 1TB | Powered by Corsair CX750M

I am serious, and don't call me Shirley
iPwn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2015, 11:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

Yes Luke. Come to the dark side.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 12:46 AM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
MadmanRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In the not too distant future...
Posts: 205
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

AMD should have never done bulldozer really, no more high powered CPU's for under Intels asking price.
Maybe they should do GPU's only, AMD GPU's are getting better... sure not as good a NVIDIA but if they devote resources they could still save themselves
MadmanRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 06:24 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,299
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPwn View Post
Nice article too!

Boy is my face red......



I've been an AMD fanboy since ... 2001 when I got my first Athlon Thunderbird (even had the axia stepping for those who know why that's special). What a load of crap for a company, and especially a company you've supported so long to use deceitful sales tactics. Looks like I'll be putting my name in that hat and using the money towards an Intel chip
Well to be fair when they came out they were still decent chips and still perform fine even now, but require a lot more power and core clock speed. I personally don't think they were after deceitful sales tactics, but I just think their "real men use real cores" campaign back in the day makes them look like total tools. They were fully hoping for the market to go to offloading to the GPU quicker than it has gone. Zen next year is going back to a monolithic core design. I just don't think it'll be close to Intel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadmanRB View Post
AMD should have never done bulldozer really, no more high powered CPU's for under Intels asking price.
Maybe they should do GPU's only, AMD GPU's are getting better... sure not as good a NVIDIA but if they devote resources they could still save themselves
Their idea was good, but execution fell flat on it's face, for the reasoning above. AMD has already offloaded their GPU department and I believe are concentrating on CPUs only. I believe Zen will be pretty decent but still playing catchup to Intel.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 09:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

I thought AMD was keeping the GPU division to their selfs since that has been the only profitable portion of the company...
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 12:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,299
Default Re: AMD is in the soup, again.

They didn't sell, just branched out. So basically they are both AMD but two separate entities with both concentrating solely on their task. CPU and GPU.

AMD Reorganizes Graphics Division - Radeon Whole Once More, Led By Raja Koduri
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changed my mind again, and again... chevytrucknut New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-06-2005 06:51 AM
Look At This Soup Up Megadeth2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-15-2005 04:02 PM
dell case, possible to soup up? Quintox Overclocking and Modding 28 01-11-2005 04:49 PM
"new cpu detected" again & again & again... jz10 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 12-03-2004 06:18 PM
longhorn digital soup? WastedYouth Microsoft Windows and Software 7 02-06-2004 11:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.