AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2007, 04:53 AM   #41 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Infinite is just a concept. You can't actually get infinite anything.

The only reason infinite exists (as a concept) is because theoretically there is no such thing as a "highest number" either.

Case in point: what's the highest number you can think of?
What if you add 1 to that number?
You remind me of that annoying smarta$$ friend we all have that hangs on people's every word and over analyzes way beyond the realm of context in which it is used.

I'm simply saying, pretty soon the pressure will be on GAME developers rather than hardware developers because the hardware will be of irrelevant power. We will need less power, we will have excessive speeds, we will have excessive space, we will have low heat. The pc's performance will surpass our demands and we will begin to let our imaginations free-roam to utilize it. Game graphics will be "prefected" and no longer "improved". You'll see more pressure for better stories, more concepts, a more enthralling experience overall.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:03 AM   #42 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
All we really need is a unified language for the GPUs... the technology is already out there to put them in ZIF sockets.

As components shrink, begin to run cooler, and become less power-hungry, the feasibility of doing something like this climbs higher and higher.
the technology of GPU's is much more likely to change than with CPU's.

CPU's might have some instruction sets added from time to time, but generally most changes are to make them faster and more efficient.

GPU's have to take into account many new technologies and advances in graphics (including DirectX versions), as well as making them faster

While I do like the idea of ZIF socket GPU's, I think it would be much harder to accomplish.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
You remind me of that annoying smarta$$ friend we all have that hangs on people's every word and over analyzes way beyond the realm of context in which it is used.
On the other hand, I'd hate for people who do actually know what they're talking about to use words or phrases that simply don't apply (eg my hard drive crashed, when it is actually the software)
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 05:29 AM   #43 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
On the other hand, I'd hate for people who do actually know what they're talking about to use words or phrases that simply don't apply (eg my hard drive crashed, when it is actually the software)
It just makes you sound really literal and uptight. That's all. I mean, so what if it didn't "crash" or "experience a radical decelleration causing structural damage to the device/object". He's still screwed and everyone knows what he meant.

So when is the soonest that we will see something of the "next gen" from AMD on newegg? Late august with the barcelona?

FYI: New AMD roadmap reveals 16-core chips News - PC Advisor

Amazingly clear layout of this "blizzard" of codenames.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:06 AM   #44 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
It just makes you sound really literal and uptight. That's all. I mean, so what if it didn't "crash" or "experience a radical decelleration causing structural damage to the device/object". He's still screwed and everyone knows what he meant.
It appears that we're making two different kinds of argument here. Mine is an objective stance, and yours is a subjective one.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
So when is the soonest that we will see something of the "next gen" from AMD on newegg? Late august with the barcelona?

FYI: New AMD roadmap reveals 16-core chips News - PC Advisor

Amazingly clear layout of this "blizzard" of codenames.
It will be this year, I know that much.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 06:36 AM   #45 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: American in Hong Kong
Posts: 383
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Here's a relevant/interesting read.

FOXNews.com - New Processors Present Problems, Payoff - Technology News | News On Technology
Pdawg is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:46 AM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pdawg View Post
But the focus that intel/amd are making is that we need to keep our heat/energy levels DOWN. And these things ARE getting a lot faster. I don't believe its a matter of speed more-so than just "a lot of computing" to be done. It's easier for the cpu makers to create a lot of cores that work together to tackle a huge work load. If the programs can be subdivided, like games w/ sound/physics/AI/etc on a diff core, then its all good. But if the program is just one measly process that you need done lightning fast, then yes, you are in trouble.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:51 AM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
But the focus that intel/amd are making is that we need to keep our heat/energy levels DOWN. And these things ARE getting a lot faster. I don't believe its a matter of speed more-so than just "a lot of computing" to be done. It's easier for the cpu makers to create a lot of cores that work together to tackle a huge work load. If the programs can be subdivided, like games w/ sound/physics/AI/etc on a diff core, then its all good. But if the program is just one measly process that you need done lightning fast, then yes, you are in trouble.
ooh thats a good idea
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:55 AM   #48 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

It's not exactly my idea. I'm pretty sure Crytek will be doing that with the quad cores. I've heard Yuri say it a few times. But 16 cores from amd? What are they crazy? I never really thought about it in the way that that article did before. We are not seeing a further push for raw speed, just more horsepower and torque. We've gone from racecars to mac trucks.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:38 PM   #49 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by BennyV04988 View Post
It's not exactly my idea. I'm pretty sure Crytek will be doing that with the quad cores. I've heard Yuri say it a few times. But 16 cores from amd? What are they crazy? I never really thought about it in the way that that article did before. We are not seeing a further push for raw speed, just more horsepower and torque. We've gone from racecars to mac trucks.
I don't think CPU's are really comparable to automobiles.

Reminds me of that Bill Gates vs General Motors article.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-29-2007, 12:42 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD shows off 3.0Ghz Phenom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I don't think CPU's are really comparable to automobiles.

Reminds me of that Bill Gates vs General Motors article.
lol i wanna read taht.... sounds interesting
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom to launch in November Trotter New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-23-2007 01:04 AM
AMD phenom processor details mikee New Technology and Products 3 05-31-2007 01:05 AM
3.0ghz! kobe24 Overclocking and Modding 11 05-25-2007 12:04 PM
Fellow Geeks.. MrCoffee New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-06-2007 05:34 PM
AMD Phenom processor maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 05-02-2007 03:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.