AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2007, 03:39 AM   #21 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Heres an easy comparison, quad core > Dual core lol. Those Phenoms have 4 cores and of course will smack around a C2D. Heres the deal though 4 cores is till useless unless you have applications that can use it. Crysis is "supposedly" supposed to be optimized for 4 cores but i highly doubt it with the amount of single core gamers still in this world. (Yes, believe it or not) Dual core is just barely making its stand in the market cause there isnt a need to get more than 1 core in the gaming industry. Here to prove it, i dont need more than an OCed 3000+ A64 Venice to run all the latest games maxed out (DX9, i have no DX10 card) nor do i need a better processor to run 2 7950s in SLI. With a 3000+ and my 7950GT i got over 6k in 3dmark06.

So i say, AM3 FTW.

EDIT: *Disclaimer* By no means at all do i support SLI/X-Fire. Its a waste period.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:48 AM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

good info has anyone a estimate on the prices of the cheapest phenoms?
__________________

Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:51 AM   #23 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

For anybody who wants a hardcopy.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...3dmark066k.jpg

And they are just barely releasing these details. Im not sure if there are rumoured prices out yet. Even if there are, i would take them with a grain of salt.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:57 AM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

i was only going for ballpark figures- iammakin a new comp and the only thing keeping me from staying AMD is that there 3 steps behind- the phenom seems to be there answer to that- which may or may not be enough still. So before I go off buying mainboards I wanna make sure.
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:24 AM   #25 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

They arent 3 steps behind. If youve kept up with the AMD/Intel Nvidia/ATI battle youll notice that its a new crown for every gen. Its an off and on win lose thing here. AMD should be picking up the pieces with K10.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:30 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

it seems intel still has the price/perf ratio better then amd
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:33 AM   #27 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

For right now. Like i said, Intel has the crown this round. Next will most likely be AMD cause its off and on.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:53 AM   #28 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

lol welcome back pp mguire

and meh to running 7950 and 3000+ .... doesnt fit my gaming needs at 1680x1050 with high AA
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:00 AM   #29 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,310
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Actualy it would. At that res you dont need anything higher than 4xAA and 16xAF. Which it will do. But the whole point of that was to just get a point across about processors really. I actualy think ive seen a 3dmark score of lower than 5k in somebodies sig with a dual core and an 8600. I wasnt merely buffing graphics power but more so the point that dual cores and quad cores (And i guess cause AMD is stupid tri cores) arent really needed still in the gaming industry. And thanx, idk how long ill be back. Got a PM about 30 minutes after registration lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 05:14 AM   #30 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

ya.. well me being a ******.. i loveeee top end performance.. lol i'm a fool for technology... and under 5k.. eh? maybe it was a 8600gt and a 3600 stock? lol
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD unveils Phenom logo TRDCorolla1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-16-2007 04:50 PM
AMD phenom processor details mikee New Technology and Products 3 05-31-2007 01:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.