AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2007, 06:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
this is great news! but not stopping me from getting my qx6700!

How dare you betray your AMD roots like that.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Quote:
Originally Posted by NosBoost300 View Post
this is great news! but not stopping me from getting my qx6700!
why not the q6700? i thought multiplier unlock was only difference
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

why not q6600......
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:11 PM   #14 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
why not q6600......
cuz he wants top in superpi
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 10-15-2007, 07:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

im picking up one of those quad cores. at launch, 2.4ghz sounds very nice.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Let me just say "competion inspires innovation". whether ur an intel fan or a amd fan we need AMD. Amd is the only thing thats keeping intel on its toes. sure intel is kicking amd's butt but the only reason is coz AMD made a whole new CPU architechure, now thats impressive new architechures take months n months too design, n its kick *** architechure. yea sure phenom might not cut it with core 2 quad, but amd is most likely gona have a 8core CPU before intel does just because amd got their new flexible architechure. i study microprocessors as part of my degree, n believe me when i say that AMD has made an impressive architechure. if only Tilera brought out their cpus for desktops then both intel n amd would be out of business
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

i bet if AMD neva made cpus for desktop n laptop, then we would all be bragging bout our new intel p3 2ghz now n how we can get a whooping 1fps on supreme commander lol
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 161
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

cant wait for desktop cpus with mesh architechure!(starts drooling)
__________________
INTEL Q6600 8MB CACHE 2.5GHZ
ASUS P4E32-E
6GB DDR2800 OCZ
NVIDIA 8800GTS 320MB
DEATH-INCARNATE is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:30 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 224
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

so from the posted statistics- will the lowest phenom be better then say the core 2 duo e6600 ? how bout the 6750?

Or on par? (without oc of course)

Can we get some comparison for the less-geeky of the bunch?
Kisskerven is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 03:37 AM   #20 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: AMD Sheds Additional Phenom Details

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
why not the q6700? i thought multiplier unlock was only difference
because its 500 on ebAY!
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RV670, RD790 and Phenom Apokalipse Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 10-07-2007 10:26 PM
AMD Phenom, RD790 and RV670 to arrive same time in Q4 07 Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-07-2007 09:13 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD unveils Phenom logo TRDCorolla1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-16-2007 04:50 PM
AMD phenom processor details mikee New Technology and Products 3 05-31-2007 01:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.