AMD sets launch date for quad-core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 02:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default AMD sets launch date for quad-core

http://www.crn.com.au/story.aspx?CII...edate=20060602
Quote:
AMD sets launch date for quad-core

AMD will roll out its quad-core processors in mid-2007 and plans to release a lower-power dual-core mobile CPU and a souped-up desktop offering, company executives said Thursday.

AMD CTO Phil Hester said the quad-core processor will have four true cores, "it is not a dual-core glued together." His comments came at an analysts briefing Thursday.

The chip will have dedicated L1 and L2 cache for each core plus a shared 2Mbyte L3 cache design that Hester said can be expanded in the future.

AMD also will work to increase the number of instructions that can be processed at one time, including floating point instructions, important for graphics and high-performance computing.

I/O and memory controller speed will be scaled up to handle the increased load from four cores, he added.

Hester said AMD will also continue to focus on power management capabilities in its design. Each core can be controlled for power individually and can be powered down when loads are light.

With the new quad-core designs, Hester said AMD will have x86 offerings that can handle as many as 36-individual cores in a systems, pitting the systems up against the higher-end RISC and Itanium competitors.

John Fowler, executive vice president of Sun Microsystems' Systems Group, is close to releasing a new Opteron product line that will give a x86 systems, which typically have a shorter life cycle than higher-end RISC-based systems, a life-space of five to six years.

He said four-core, eight-core, new memory such as FB-DIMM, will be able to accommodated over time without having to change out motherboards. "It's not just about the speed of the pipeline, it's the about the building blocks of the pipeline," he said.

Marty Seyer, senior vice president of AMD's commercial business segment, said that AMD feels so confident about its momentum in the server space it is increasing its 2006 year end goal to 30 percent from 20 percent. At the end of the first quarter, AMD held 25.7 percent of the US server market and 15.3 percent of the worldwide server market, according to Gartner.

"We are resetting our target based on the momentum we have had," he said.

As first reported by CRN, AMD also disclosed plans to let system makers couple Opteron processors with coprocessors for specialized applications, such as high-performance computing, advanced security, and XML and Java applications.

These coprocessors currently can be plugged into an extra Hypertransport link or an empty socket in a dual-socket system. Hester said AMD also is exploring integrating such coprocessors onto the processor die in the future. AMD's plan is code-named Torrenza.

"We are laying the foundation today and watch technologies as they evolve in the future," he said.

Also discussed by AMD was a new dual-core, 64-nanometer mobile chip that further improves power efficiency. Hester said AMD's new processor, to be available in 2007, will control power management separately on each of the mobile dual cores as well as throttle down I/O connections as loads decrease.

In the future, he said AMD will focus on improving graphics performance on notebooks as well as working with partners to support advanced wireless such as 802.11n and 3G.

AMD's enthusiast desktop offering includes a reference design that supports two dual-core Athlon FX processors with a PC Express connection to two dual-graphic processor cards.
Mid 2007...... well, this does make me think weather I upgrade Chinese New Year 2007 year or just bung the biggest AGP video card into my current rig.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Or you could get a Conroe. I wonder how much these CPU's are going to cost.
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 02:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Powerslave
Or you could get a Conroe. I wonder how much these CPU's are going to cost.
Right now, I am just going to stick with my current rig. I will have a look at my option come chinese new year 2007
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Unless you want to buy a server i'd go Conroe, I've seen no evidence that AMD plan to put a quad core on AM2 or if its even possible, the roadmaps point to quadcore on socket F which is a server socket.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 01:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

YES AGP all the WAY.... ya im stuck with it too, and will also have to decide wether or not to upgrade, because by 2007, will s939 still be around or just AM2?? who knows. but i heard that s754 will still be there. yay....dont have to upgrade my processor. :dodgy:
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

you realize that the fact that maybe s754 won't be phased out won't mean you don't need to upgrade you'r chip right? XD It has nothing to do with it, although you'r chip isn't bad at the moment ^_^

BTW harper what rig do you have?
__________________

Yoad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.