AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-16-2007, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

Advanced Micro Devices may not be in position to release its new dual-processor enthusiast-class platform this year, however, it may be thinking about a different product, according to some unofficial information. Apparently, the company may be mulling about a triple-core microprocessor for desktops.

According to a news-story at Hard Tecs 4U web-site, AMD is working on a processor that would have three processing engines. The company reportedly told its partners about the AMD Phenom X3 chip at a closed meeting, explaining that the chipmaker plans to release such a product because of “market demand”.

The new triple-core microprocessors will feature its own design and will not be quad-core chips with one core disabled, according to the web-site. Nevertheless, the chips will still include 2MB of shared L3 cache and will take advantage of other K10 micro-architecture features, such as SSE4A instruction set, 128-bit floating point units (FPU) and so on. Obviously, the chips will also have advanced power management capabilities.

According to estimates by X-bit labs, each processing engine of quad-core AMD Opteron/Phenom processors takes about 13% of the die size. Given the whole die size of approximately 285mm² and about 218 chip candidates obtained from every 300mm wafer, X-bit labs believes that it is highly unlikely that AMD had decided to develop a separate tripe-core design with about 247mm² die size and 250 chip candidates obtained from a 300mm wafer unless the yields of the new chips are so low that the company needs a redundant third processing engine to create a dual-core product with sufficient yield.





Technically AMD can easily make microprocessors with odd amount of processing engines thanks to its DirectConnect architecture. However, it is not completely clear how AMD plans to position such chips, considering that it will have to fight both dual-core and quad-core Intel Core 2 processors with its AMD Phenom and AMD Athlon 64 X2 offerings.

AMD did not comment on the news-story.

X-bit labs - AMD Thinks Triple-Core Microprocessors – Rumours [UPDATED 2].
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 05:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

it wouldnt work, u cant devide by 3 the mathematical work load has to be even.
look at it like the 360 cpu it is triple core technically. its just one duel core die, plus a single core die, on the same chip.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
it wouldnt work, u cant devide by 3 the mathematical work load has to be even.
look at it like the 360 cpu it is triple core technically. its just one duel core die, plus a single core die, on the same chip.
Yea, and don't forget that the tri-core of Xbox 360 can execute 6 threads simultaneously. In other words, it is a three core that acts like 6 cores. Just like P4 with HT acts like two core processor, even though it is only 1 physical core processor.
maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
it wouldnt work, u cant devide by 3 the mathematical work load has to be even.
look at it like the 360 cpu it is triple core technically. its just one duel core die, plus a single core die, on the same chip.
ya, equals triple-core :P.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

never ever gonna work ever. cause thats how long the decimals are if you devide 100 by 3 it keeps going on for ever and ever.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

Then how does Xbox360 processor work ?

It has 3 cores !
maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 06:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Then how does Xbox360 processor work ?

It has 3 cores !
Research here on Wikipedia.org about it n educate urself :P.

Xenon (processor) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

here i even gave u a head start lol.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

it like havign 3 seperate cpu's with yper threading. each cpu cant share teh work load because they arent connected, so its really just like having 3 cpu's to do three didferent things, unlike a pc multi core cpu, it has multiple cores that can work together to acomplish the same thing.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
never ever gonna work ever. cause thats how long the decimals are if you devide 100 by 3 it keeps going on for ever and ever.
you can split it into 33, 33 and 34
Plus, different instructions take different amounts of time to complete, based on an extremely range of circumstances.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
X-bit labs believes that it is highly unlikely that AMD had decided to develop a separate tripe-core design with about 247mm² die size and 250 chip candidates obtained from a 300mm wafer unless the yields of the new chips are so low that the company needs a redundant third processing engine to create a dual-core product with sufficient yield.
I doubt that the yields will be low. AMD has been focusing very hard on getting higher yields from its fabs.

On the other hand, Intel just builds more fabs.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-16-2007, 08:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores

From what I read, the triple cores are to fill in the gaps between dual and quad. think of them as quad Semprons. There is a theory out that a triple is still a quad and could possibly be "unlocked", much as some GPUs pipes are unlocked.

Still too early to draw judgments, though. Once it hits the ground is up and running we'll see what is and what ain't. Until then we're only guessing.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM
AMD unveils Phenom logo TRDCorolla1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 09-16-2007 04:50 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.