amd question... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2005, 06:41 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

As others have siad, it depends on what you plan to use the CPU for... Generally, an Athlon 64 3400+ (presumably in the Socket 939 flavour) will come out tops in primarily games and 3D benchmarking utilities. For most other desktop uses, see the 3.4 GHz P4.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 06:47 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 119
Default

with the x2's, what would be the point of even looking at intel?
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+
DFI NF4 Ultra-D
2 gb OCZ dual channel platinum
512mb 7900GTX (eVGA)
250gb 16mb WD HD
3550a Dvd/cd rw/r (NEC)
Thermaltake Full Alum. Armor Case
Rmaia is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,286
Default

Yes, the X2s got your gaming AND you rmultitasking so what else could you ask for?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:04 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

but for gaming you will have to wait to bring out the full performance of the X2s
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

But he wasn't looking/talking about the X2 line, just the regular Athlon 64. Now, if you do want to add the X2's into the equation, they are currently the way to go for a CPU choice.
__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 07:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 46
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by P.P. Mguire
Yes, the X2s got your gaming AND you rmultitasking so what else could you ask for?
An affordable price maybe.

Not everyone can afford one of those and if your looking at multi-tasking primarily, you would have to go with intel. Don't rule intel out just as yet.
xven is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:15 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

multi-tasking go with intel? if your serious into multi-tasking you would go with an X2 but people who say they multi task but they dont go with intel.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:11 PM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

i remember last year, intel was the leading maker of CPUs for multi tasking, but ever since the X2 people allways suggest the X2 over intel.

Yes the X2 is better but if your budget isn't very big an intel will do the job perfectly for both gaming and Muti tasking applications.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:12 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

are we talking about Pentium D processors or just regular P4s?
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:22 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

both, my regular 478 can run anything i throw at it. and since most programs dont make use of the dual cores yet, a non dual core is still very efficient.
__________________

__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.