AMD Question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2008, 02:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default AMD Question...

Will there be a new AMD socket coming out anytime soon?
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: AMD Question...

AM2+ not good enough for you?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: AMD Question...

Socket AM3 is expected by late 2008.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Question...

AM3 is coming out late 2008 as b1gapl said, but you do know that it'll be backwards compatible with AM2+ and AM2 right?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 03:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: AMD Question...

Just stick with AM2+.....wait for the B4 phenoms to come out, since B3 will suck balls.
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default Re: AMD Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
Just stick with AM2+.....wait for the B4 phenoms to come out, since B3 will suck balls.

Finally, it tooks this long for either of the companies to think of making a default socket for a long time? LOL...

And thats what I am going to do...I had plans to build a gaming machine, but I said eff it, im going to wait now...my current rig can hold me off for a year or so...
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 04:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: AMD Question...

Any idea on then the new Phenoms are going to come out?
__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Old 03-05-2008, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default Re: AMD Question...

The B4's in May hopefully.....
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 10:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: AMD Question...

I wish they would stick to a single socket...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-06-2008, 01:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
almightyobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 241
Default Re: AMD Question...

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmammen View Post
The B4's in May hopefully.....

wow that long? didnt think it would take that long to fix them
__________________

__________________

MB - DFI LP DK P35-T2RS
CPU - Q6600 @ 3.0 atm
HSF - Lapped TRUE + Scythe
RAM - 2x 1G Ballisitx Tracers
GPU - EVGA 9800 GTX
HD - 500G Barracuda + 320G Ext
PSU - PC P&C Silencer 610
OS - Windows XP 32-bit SP2 OEM
Case - Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570
Monitor - Hanns-G 19" Widescreen LCD
Headset - Sennheiser PC151
3DMark06 - 14186 (3.0 / stock gpu)

You must try some of my purple berries...
almightyobo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Details Next-generation Platforms! Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-15-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.