AMD question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2006, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default AMD question?

what's the deal with AMD lately. it seems like their getting manhandled by Intel.

it's like there not the same as they once used to be...

does anyone have any info about what's the deal here?
__________________

KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

http://forums.overclockersclub.com/?showtopic=66769
http://forums.overclockersclub.com/?showtopic=66584
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Corporate/V...100481,00.html

Cause they are getting Man handled. Thats the only news I Know of. They are comming out with stuff. But like you said, Man handled.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

for now they are getting worked, its about time . lets see what happens with DDR3. i bet amd has something up their sleeves
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
for now they are getting worked, its about time . lets see what happens with DDR3. i bet amd has something up their sleeves
they wont have anything till late 2007 and 2008, and intel are normally the ones who use new types of ram first such as DDR2 but think that was mainly to do with having a north bridge instead of a built on memory controller like AMD. Though looks like intel are going that route now too.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 258
Send a message via AIM to KNiGHTMaRe89
Default

after reading those articles, i think AMD has something very big up there sleeves and when they drop their bombshell people are gonna crap themselves.
KNiGHTMaRe89 is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Like for all things, its all talk until it happens.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
Like for all things, its all talk until it happens.
yeah we shall see. my self , I have always been an amd supporter cause of lower price and higher performance. but with the Core2duo and the price drops on intels side recently I might have my next system be an Intel.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default Re: AMD question?

Quote:
Originally posted by KNiGHTMaRe89
what's the deal with AMD lately. it seems like their getting manhandled by Intel.
You know, they said the same thing about Intel when AMD was in the lead, and then AMD before that, then Intel..then AMD...then Intel...

If you haven't figured it out yet, the two go back and forth. This is not the end of AMD just because Intel has something "better" for the moment. If history has shown anything, it's that Intel fans will gloat for a few months, then AMD will meet the call and it will all flip around for another few months...

Try not to get all bent out of shape over it. If anything, everyone should be happy that Intel has moved ahead because of some real improvement in their chips, and not just because they crammed more watts through it to raise the marketing specs...
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:25 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default

do you guys think i should wait for the 65nm amd x2
how big will the advantage be?
__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 03:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Camshaft
do you guys think i should wait for the 65nm amd x2
how big will the advantage be?
Post a Build thread with total Budget.
Don't Hijack Threads.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.