amd processors (cant tell the difference) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2005, 11:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Exclamation amd processors (cant tell the difference)

icant tell what the better one is.

athlon 64 3200+ venice (cheaper 152$)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

Athlon 64 3200+ winchester (more expensive 190$)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103502

the only difference that i find is that the venice has MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, 3DNOW! Professional and the winchester is missing SSE3.
PLease help
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

They stupidly put the price up on the Winchester, even thoiugh its older. The Venice is the better core. It also has the advantage of a better memory controller, which can handle 4 sticks of ram at 400mhz. (I have to have them at 333 mhz.)
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

thanx now i can save money instaed of buying a 3700+ sen deigo for 200+$ ill just overclock the venive.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you have the money, then a San Diego has 1mb cache, where as the Venice doesn't.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

well i have the money but then ill have none left and i still want to buy a new mp3 player (creative zen micro)
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

plus you might not even get to OC the venice very far...
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Well, I bought my venice in september, and it overclocked okay. I mean, my motherboard only allows it to go to 2250mhz, but it's there, stable, all the time with stock cooling. It's really about how much you want to spend. If I had the cash I would have gotten the 3700.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Most Athlon 64 3200+ Venices are maxing out at 2.6GHz these days.

Most Athlon 64 3700+ San Diegos are maxing out at 2.8 or 3.0GHz.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

liike i said i have the dough but then i would have to use my old graphix (GeForce Fx5700) and would'nt be able to buy my creative zen micro.
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,294
Default

What games are you thinking about playing?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.