AMD processors - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 06:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I have the AMD 3700+, and it seems to run any game out there along with my x1900xt.

Your GPU is more important for gaming than your CPU. My GPU is worth twice as much as my CPU.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 06:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Orayn
Indeed. Decent benchmarks DO NOT relieve it of the fact that it's still an Intel. >.>
And so what if it is? Whats this senseless discrimination against Intel?
__________________

Green Radience is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

It's me losing control and becoming a fanboy. I apologize.
Orayn is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

before i upgraded to an Celeron 3.2 processor, i had a Athlon XP 2900+ OC'd to 2.4 ghz. that ran games like BF2, FEAR, Black and White 2 perfectly.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:57 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Can going from an Athlon XP 2900+ (?) to a Celeron 3.2, be considered a upgrade?


__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD processors

Quote:
Originally posted by jordo_99
so what's the difference between the AMD processors (ie. sempron, athlon...etc)

I'm looking at buying a processor for a cheap gaming build this summer and i dont' know what to go with.
we need to know a budget before we can recommend what to get

low budget:
Sempron / Sempron 64
they are not very expensive, but they are quite descent in terms of performance. they won't perform as well as Athlon 64's due to the lower amount of cache, but they have a higher performance / price

medium budget
single core Athlon 64
AMD's main line of processors currently. they are more expensive than Sempron's, though the prices are not through the roof unless you go for an FX series chip (which IMO is not worth the money)

highish budget:
Athlon 64 X2 / Opteron 165 or above (socket 939)
these dual core CPU's are the best chips out right now. they perform well in basically every aspect, including multitasking

I myself have a Sempron 2800+ (s754) at the moment. it's not hugely powerful, but it does everything I want it to right now.
I am pleased with how it's running, it runs completely stable even at 100% CPU load for very long periods of time (though that's probabbly because of the Thermaltake Sonic Tower I put on)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 07:59 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sempron 64's above 3000+ would be great for a budget gaming build although you would be better off with an athlon 64. if you go with a sempron i think 3100+ is supposed to be the model to go for, that being the paris core.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:17 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magouster
Can going from an Athlon XP 2900+ (?) to a Celeron 3.2, be considered a upgrade?



well the 2900+ was clocked at 2.4 Ghz, the celeron is at 3.2Ghz.... i consider that an upgrade.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:19 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you can't measure CPU performance by clock speeds alone. an Athlon XP at 2.4GHZ is considerably faster than any Celeron I've heard of
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:25 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Amen to that Apokalipse, that's why I was asking!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.