Which AMD proc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2005, 11:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default Which AMD proc?

The 64 x2 3800+ is $347, has 2 X 512 L2 cache, but uses only 89w of power.

The 64 x2 440+ is $526, has 2 X 1Gb L2 cache, and uses 110w of power.

Which would you opt for? I know the 2 X 1024 L2 will be faster, but is it worth an extra $200? It will also run hotter, making OCing an issue, I am afraid. Seems like the 3800+ is a cheaper, more OC-friendly solution, what say ye?
__________________

__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 11:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yah but if you can aford it go for the 4400 its cache is larger and if you cant justify it get a 4200 and o/c it to 4400 speeds.but i would go with an good heatsink if you o/c but you prolly know that already.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 12:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

also the 4400 is the same as the 4800 but at different clock speeds so with some good cooling or something you could get it to 4800 speeds.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 12:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by matt2m
also the 4400 is the same as the 4800 but at different clock speeds so with some good cooling or something you could get it to 4800 speeds.
True. I think with that idea in mind, water cooling would definitely be in order. Good idea.

Thanks for the input, the jury is still out!
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 12:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Dude, don't jump on watercooling right now. Its harder than it looks and extremely risky...it can screw up your whole PC.

Even the stock HSF on the X2s is very good so you can probably get 2.6-2.8GHz out of a 2.2GHz X2.
Flanker is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 07:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

uh oh, water cooling is hard, WTF STOP CHANING YOUR MINDS!!
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flanker
Dude, don't jump on watercooling right now. Its harder than it looks and extremely risky...it can screw up your whole PC.

Even the stock HSF on the X2s is very good so you can probably get 2.6-2.8GHz out of a 2.2GHz X2.
Risky, I can see. But hard? That one I DON'T see.

I was thinking about buying one of those small fridges to set beside the comp to keep my beer cold & handy.... and why not set the radiator inside, as well? A little extra hose, and the water would be a LOT colder than ambient!
__________________
If I don\'t step over the line every now and again, how will I know where it is?
F6Hawk is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 09:36 AM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Which AMD proc?

Quote:
Originally posted by F6Hawk
The 64 x2 3800+ is $347, has 2 X 512 L2 cache, but uses only 89w of power.

The 64 x2 440+ is $526, has 2 X 1Gb L2 cache, and uses 110w of power.

Which would you opt for? I know the 2 X 1024 L2 will be faster, but is it worth an extra $200? It will also run hotter, making OCing an issue, I am afraid. Seems like the 3800+ is a cheaper, more OC-friendly solution, what say ye?
I would get the x2 3800.

btw the x2 4400+ has 1mb L2 cache, not GB.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 10:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by F6Hawk
I was thinking about buying one of those small fridges to set beside the comp to keep my beer cold & handy.... and why not set the radiator inside, as well? A little extra hose, and the water would be a LOT colder than ambient!
With i setup like this you will have to worry about condensation building up on your cooling setup inside your pc. like when you have a cold drink and it's hot and humid, you get water that builds up on the outside i wouldn't want to see that in my computer case.
BColes is offline  
Old 10-17-2005, 03:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

we just made a freakin thread about putting the radiator/reservoir in the mini fridge. its called Refridgerator water, !! AHH
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.