AMD Phenom II x4 Build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2009, 08:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Default AMD Phenom II x4 Build

Looking to upgrade a PC.
It will mostly be for gaming.
My budget is around 300 to 400 dollars.
I am located in Ohio.
I am willing to buy online.
Will be using parts from previous build.

What I'm looking to upgrade would be the motherboard, CPU, memory. Looking to get into quad core/ddr3 range with 2x+ pci express slots.

Motherboard/CPU Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Ram - Looking for suggestions, would a 6gb (3x2gb) be worth it for triple channel performance?

What I have from previous build.

Evga 8800
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-550VX 550W ATX12V V2.2 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
case etc.

I know the psu isn't gonna last another video card upgrade but hopefully it'll handle this. Any thoughts?
__________________

desekoro is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 08:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

Looks good, except triple channel RAM is only for i7's.
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

Okay so i might just go with around 4 gigs or so then. Is the phenom II worth it or could i get by with the new althon II x4 620 propus? I know it doesn't have l3 cache but the price vs performance seems pretty good.
desekoro is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

First of all, DDR3 will not make your computer any faster. It will only allow the processor to reach a higher clockspeed. Your goal is to spend the most you can on the processor and minimize wasted money on the Ram and motherboard. Neither actually effects the performance of your computer build.

That combo looks great. That power supply will survive more than just a few upgrades, as long as you don't plan on using more than two video cards or an insane amount of harddrives, you shouldn't have to replace it for a while. As far as ram goes, I would recommend this kit.

As long as your gaming you won't use more than 4gb, so getting two 3gb sticks would be a waste.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

K, thanks for the thoughts on the ram, i see the ram you posted is DDR2 though, would i be able to use that with this motherboard?
desekoro is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 09:19 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dirkpitt45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 755
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexsabree View Post
First of all, DDR3 will not make your computer any faster. It will only allow the processor to reach a higher clockspeed. Your goal is to spend the most you can on the processor and minimize wasted money on the Ram and motherboard. Neither actually effects the performance of your computer build.
Umm how does DDR3 allow you to reach higher clock speeds?.... I was under the impression it just handled the memory differently, but it was not advanced enough to provide a worthwhile upgrade yet.

Edit: Yes Alex made a mistake, you need DDR3 to go with that mobo.
dirkpitt45 is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 13
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

Alright then, so I'm gonna go with 4 gigs of ddr3 probably 1600 speed and most likely the combo deal unless i can get anyone to give me some suggestions on side grades or some pretty good deals I'm missing out on. Thanks for all the responses.
desekoro is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 11:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

The prices or DDR2 is so close to DDR3 right now, I would go with DDR3 even with an AMD build. The mobo/CPU you picked will be fine.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 11:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

I fail. Sorry about that.
alexsabree is offline  
Old 10-21-2009, 11:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: AMD Phenom II x4 Build

this is also a good combo, cheaper too.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

and some ram
Newegg.com - OCZ Special Ops Urban Elite 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model OCZ3SOU16004GK - Desktop Memory
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FSB and L2 Cache Questions for AMD Build jolferrari@yahoo.com System Upgrades 2 06-10-2009 01:02 PM
AMD announces socket AM3 Phenom II processors thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 37 02-17-2009 03:53 AM
A good motherboard for an AMD Phenom 9850 a1r_pilot New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-30-2008 08:46 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Phenom X4 CPU Prices Emerge b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 123 11-12-2007 02:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.