AMD Opteron on MSI K8N NEO4-F? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default AMD Opteron on MSI K8N NEO4-F?

Just wanted to know if theyre compatible and if it can overclockas well as it can an Athlon-my asus motherboard decided to commit suicide.
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 08:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

the msi is a GREAT overclocking board. and if ur gonna get an opteron, get the opteron 165.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 08:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

It will work. Im not sure if they technically support opterons or not. I know that DFIs dont support so if you use an opteron with them you void the warrenty and so if you happen to burn out your cpu or mobo, you S.O.L. It was a risk me and many others have taken. Your choice.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

not really a risk since they have no way of knowing you used an opteron
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 07:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

The MSI's kick ***. DFI support Opteron's and so do MSI's, you just have to update the bios. If you put any Opteron on a non server board then you void the warranty.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 08:01 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

yeh MSI is the ultimate gaming mobo
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 10:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

really, does it beat dfi?
harry18 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 01:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

I wouldn't say so, due to the plethora of overclocking options in the DFI's BIOS, but they're a close second imo. And cheaper!

Plus, if you check my sig, you'll see I have an MSI K8N Neo4-F + Opteron.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 02:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by reggie_da_man
The MSI's kick ***. DFI support Opteron's and so do MSI's, you just have to update the bios. If you put any Opteron on a non server board then you void the warranty.
DFI doesnt support opterons. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813136152.

I wouldnt say the Neo-F beat DFIs but i say its quite close. DFIs have many overclocking options in BIOS that make them such good overclocking boards. Either way you should be happy.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.