Is AMD Now Obsolete????? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 10:27 PM   #41 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

new intel chips over clock so far, its rediculous, amd has great deals tho, and have a few great over clockers like the 3600+x2 and the 5000+be both capable of ocing over 1ghz of extra speed with ease.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:53 AM   #42 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 678
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

I bought a 65$ proc (amd x2 3600+) and OCed it to 3.2ghz, (3.1 Rock solid)
I'd say thats pretty nice for price/performance
__________________

andrewsvalesen is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:22 AM   #43 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Okitasoshi View Post
but it's a lot cheaper and still outperforms any dual core Intel has for the same price.
No, it doesn't always perform better than dual core Intel

Most games don't support quad core and even games that support quad core like UT3, Crysis and Supreme commander runs better on Intel dual core than phenom

The phenom would be better choice only if you are doing a lot of multi-tasking
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:25 AM   #44 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd gt player View Post
you can get an e6750 really cheap, nothing amd can touch it., and you will oc it crazy far.
And intel is going to release E8400 3.0GHz on January 20 for the same price
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 07:56 AM   #45 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

man im behind on this stuff, but i do no that the phenoms are not as good as intel for gaming right now. but amd do have some nice deals for the price that cant be beaten for a budget builder.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:59 AM   #46 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

If you get the e2140 M0 and clock it up to reasonable levels (2.8+), then i cant see a 3600+ coming close TBH.

Overclocking Stage IV – 3.5 GHz : Ultimate Budget Overclocking Box - A 3.5 GHz Core 2 System with a €49 CPU

^ Thats amazing.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 01:20 PM   #47 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 84
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

For *** sake, how is it that AMD is cheaper like you all guys advertise so hard? It's 140 quid against Q6600 for 150. Which is $285 against $310. Or is still the case that everybody in England is being *****?
fhasser is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 02:03 PM   #48 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Other countries seem to get shafted on prices.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 04:58 PM   #49 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Prices are pretty balanced in the UK although budget chips such as low end 4000+ X2s are a good buy
Nick is offline  
Old 01-09-2008, 07:21 PM   #50 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
If you get the e2140 M0 and clock it up to reasonable levels (2.8+), then i cant see a 3600+ coming close TBH.

Overclocking Stage IV – 3.5 GHz : Ultimate Budget Overclocking Box - A 3.5 GHz Core 2 System with a €49 CPU

^ Thats amazing.
thats an L2 Revision e2140, but the M0 will actually overclock better than the L2, so they might get 3.7ghz or so?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Details Next-generation Platforms! Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-15-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.