Is AMD Now Obsolete????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2008, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

I am building a computer and decided I would go with an AMD dual core processor. A custom computer builder I talked to stated that I should not buy an AMD processor because they pail in comparison to Intel's lineup and they won't catch up anytime soon. Should I ditch AMD for Intel and not look back?
__________________

__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

The only time when you should buy an AMD processor is if you are on a budget, if you do not overclock, or you are a fanboy. Intels current chips are far better.
__________________

__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

AMD is not obsolete at all. It's not like Intel is downright mopping the floor with them. They're just behind, but that doesn't make them useless.

Go with the company you like.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vaanish View Post
The only time when you should buy an AMD processor is if you are on a budget, if you do not overclock, or you are a fanboy. Intels current chips are far better.
That about sums it up. You can get a quad core intel that will do anywhere from a 30% to 50% overclock for under 300 bucks, and a decent board for around 100. Just make sure to get a good cpu cooler if you plan to overclock.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
AMD is not obsolete at all.

Right... whoever told you they are obsolete is wrong. But they are behind atm, and although i am not a fanboy to any company, i would just like to see amd NOT be behind....
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Null
Posts: 300
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

So if I am on a budget, suck it up and by an Intel processor?
__________________

Rig:
LONG VERSION:
eMachines T5062
Single-core AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (UC'd to 1.06 GHZ)
256MB 667MHz DDR2 - Nvidia GeForce 6150SE (integrated)
20GB 4800rpm IDE - Eight channel (7.1) Audio
Windows ME... and Playing Crysis at 1 fps

SHORT VERSION:
Hard-Core
mcovalt is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

That's up to you to decide.

Most people will say Intel, for performance.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 05:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

I recomend a socket 939 board with an Athlon 64 3000+ not obsolete at all
Nick is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

amd/ati big wig says the company focus is now no longer on making the fastest processors....I know a lot of people are fanatical about this and that...but to me that means AMD will no longer be making anything that would make anybody WANT their run of the mill processors, cpu or gpu

we'll see what they bring out in 08
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 11:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: Is AMD Now Obsolete?????

the phenoms are the cheapest quad cores though, the go for ~$200 even though they are easily outperformed by intels lineup, they are great budget quad cores.
__________________

__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Details Next-generation Platforms! Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-15-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.