AMD Motherboards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2008, 12:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default AMD Motherboards

Abits Fatal1ty AN9 32X

or

Asus Crosshiar

which is better with the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+
__________________

Iokewe is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 12:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 56
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

Foxconn has a nice mobo too its C51XEM2AA-8EKRS2H
__________________

Iokewe is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

neither really, but out of those 2 I'd say the Asus crosshiar. I really like the Foxconn one the best, that you also mentioned.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 10:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

I have the AN9 32x and a AMD 6400 and haven't been able to get it working, it seems like a good mobo but from what I have been told I need to update to the latest BIOS to in order to get the 6400 to work on this board. I don't know if the same applies with the Fatality board or not.

I haven't been able to try the BIOS update yet but I hope it works.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 01:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

not too much support for the 590 chipsets anymore. some, but not much. my evga has absolutely NONE.
the 780a and 750a will be am2+ mobos, 780a with tri-sli support and 750a with regular (two card) sli support. plus, all the phenom support.
they are supposed to be launched relatively quickly now. NOTE: "supposed"

i personally wouldnt suggest a 590 or 570 mobo at this point unless you are in a pinch and just had to have one.
theres no way i would suggest a 590sli mobo when you can have an msi k9a2 platinum am2+ mobo for less money. still, it has crossfire support, but if you like ATI cards or only run one card, then it is supposed to be a great mobo.
the foxconn is a good board.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 03:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
not too much support for the 590 chipsets anymore. some, but not much. my evga has absolutely NONE.
the 780a and 750a will be am2+ mobos, 780a with tri-sli support and 750a with regular (two card) sli support. plus, all the phenom support.
they are supposed to be launched relatively quickly now. NOTE: "supposed"

i personally wouldnt suggest a 590 or 570 mobo at this point unless you are in a pinch and just had to have one.
theres no way i would suggest a 590sli mobo when you can have an msi k9a2 platinum am2+ mobo for less money. still, it has crossfire support, but if you like ATI cards or only run one card, then it is supposed to be a great mobo.
the foxconn is a good board.
from what I saw at TomsHardware website, the Crosshair does POST With a Phenom (BIOS UPDATE REQUIRED)

Most AM2 Motherboards Not Phenom Ready | Tom's Hardware

btw N-Dogg, tell me when your fedup of the eVGA 590
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 04:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

it may post, but i dont think it will have many of the overclocking features of an am2+ board (im pretty sure i could RUN a phenom in my mobo...but without the enthusiast features ie the reason i bought it in the first place...its kind of pointless).
at least, as far as an am2 mobo goes, the crosshair is a great one. but...you can buy a mobo that is made for the phenom for less money.
now, the msi mobo will definitely work with the 6400 and have all features availible as its am2 counterpart.
so...for less money and an upgradeable mobo, i think an am2+ board is a better choice than any current am2 board.
especially if you are building a new system.
lol vg we'll discuss it when i get my hands on an sli am2+ mobo.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-11-2008, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Motherboards

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
it may post, but i dont think it will have many of the overclocking features of an am2+ board (im pretty sure i could RUN a phenom in my mobo...but without the enthusiast features ie the reason i bought it in the first place...its kind of pointless).
at least, as far as an am2 mobo goes, the crosshair is a great one. but...you can buy a mobo that is made for the phenom for less money.
now, the msi mobo will definitely work with the 6400 and have all features availible as its am2 counterpart.
so...for less money and an upgradeable mobo, i think an am2+ board is a better choice than any current am2 board.
especially if you are building a new system.
lol vg we'll discuss it when i get my hands on an sli am2+ mobo.
I do agree with you tho, for that Price Range the AM2+ owns there...

I'm just saying that about the Crosshair

/ sits in corner waiting for SLI AM2 Board
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
with the AMD Phenom in mind (Am2) game motherboards?? Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-25-2007 03:09 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
Gigabyte United Preps DDR3 Motherboards maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-01-2007 08:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.