AMD Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2009, 08:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Question AMD Motherboard

I need advice on a good AMD mother board.

I am planning on X4 940 and over clocking considerably to 4.0 GHz, probably 3.6~3.7 daily.

I also would like SLI but the difference between SLI and xFire is negligible so it's too a life or death deal.

Just something that will handle that sort of over clock and preferably DDR3 for a price that makes it worth getting the AMD option over the Intel option.

I know I've asked this before, but that was a few months back and things have changed since then.

I've browsed the currently active threads and not really what I need for an answer.

thanks
__________________

chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

IMO, if you plan going socket AM3, wait a little while... Seems there are no decent motherboards, atleast nothing that has newer technology in it yet...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Running on empty.
 
chesirecat1701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nicaragua
Posts: 403
Send a message via AIM to chesirecat1701 Send a message via MSN to chesirecat1701 Send a message via Yahoo to chesirecat1701
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

well I don't mind DDR2 at all, 1066 MHz is enough for me, so it's not a big deal if AM3 hasn't matured yet

really an "at the moment" question, cause I'm planning on buying as soon as I sell my old comp
chesirecat1701 is offline  
Old 03-08-2009, 11:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

Yea, now isn't the best time to get an AM3 only board. They still need to work out the bugs with their DDR3, as it doesn't run well with the new AM3 processors. You can find some nice AM2/AM3 boards with 780g or 790gx chipsets.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ p11ma System Upgrades 8 12-06-2008 09:00 PM
what motherboard is compatible for AMD Phenom 9550 X4?? little_babyboy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-30-2008 10:26 AM
AMD Phenom 9950 BLACK EDITION 2.6GHz Socket AM2+ not working?? AydonFlex Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-21-2008 03:30 PM
Good motherboard combo for AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane amsoil System Upgrades 2 02-26-2008 11:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.