AMD Motherboard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2009, 09:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default AMD Motherboard

What is a good motherboard that can OC good as well. It doesn't matter if it is Crossfire or SLI.
__________________

Inked is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 09:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

You didn't mention a socket type... is this for an older system? or for one you are planning to buy?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

Sorry for the AM2+, and was also thinking should I just wait and get the new AM3 when they come out.
Inked is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

If you have an AM3 CPU:

Newegg.com - ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 DDR3 AMD 790GX ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

otherwise:

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX 128M AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

So the Phenom II X4 940 cant support DDR3, because I wanted to build a new computer but I wanted to have DDR3 but the AM3 processors are not as good as the 940. Unless I am wrong.
Inked is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 10:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

It's not worth it to have AM3 with DDR3 right now. Overall system performance remains unaffected compared to DDR2. Wait until they get all the bugs tweaked out.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-17-2009, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: AMD Motherboard

Thanks Vernong and Sanremo for the great replies.
__________________

Inked is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Bottleneck with AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ p11ma System Upgrades 8 12-06-2008 09:00 PM
what motherboard is compatible for AMD Phenom 9550 X4?? little_babyboy New Systems | Building and Buying 1 11-30-2008 10:26 AM
AMD Phenom 9950 BLACK EDITION 2.6GHz Socket AM2+ not working?? AydonFlex Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 07-21-2008 03:30 PM
Good motherboard combo for AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Brisbane amsoil System Upgrades 2 02-26-2008 11:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.