AMD or Intel Quad cores? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2008, 10:07 AM   #41 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Wait why did my post say "cleaning up", I didn't say anything bad...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:24 AM   #42 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Actually, there are 790X (not FX) and 770FX chipsets.
As well as Nforce 500 series AM2 boards.

look here
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

A lot of boards that don't officially support Phenom still work with it.
im curious, is AMD still planning on making Phenom FXs? My mobo says it supports it.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:39 AM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
im curious, is AMD still planning on making Phenom FXs? My mobo says it supports it.
I don't know about FX's. But we've got Black Edition's
FX's typically had the advantage of an unlocked multiplier (which Black Edition processors have now)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 11:02 AM   #44 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Im pretty sure black editions replaced all the fx chips.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 01:30 PM   #45 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vernong
Wait why did my post say "cleaning up", I didn't say anything bad...
Nope, you didn't. I removed the part of the quote that was removed from the thread. You're cool, little brother.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 01:31 PM   #46 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
And Amd/Ati do? Or nvidia? or any other company on the planet?
sure. the company my family owns does. we're not a billion-dollar company, though. BUT we do produce several million in revenue every year, and we practice ethics every day in our business dealings. if we didn't, we wouldn't be here today. which is probably why it offends me so much that others do not. i will say this...you ALWAYS have a CHOICE of what to buy. you can CHOOSE to buy AMD or intel. you can choose to buy a company that is innovating and trying to maintain fair business practices, or you can buy a company that is trying to monopolize an industry and drive ANY and ALL competitors out of business using unfair practices. if you can't choose, then it is too late.
and yes, if the roles were reversed, i would enthusiastically suggest intel. but, they are not, so i don't. i will suggest them because they perform better, and that is the logically correct decision to make. if i decide to buy an intel chip it will be based SOLEY on the fact that AMD has no direct competition for the e8500, and i am getting to the point that i need a more powerful chip. when that time comes, if AMD has a 45nm that performs even remotely close to the intel offering, i will buy IT.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 02:18 PM   #47 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
sure. the company my family owns does. we're not a billion-dollar company, though. BUT we do produce several million in revenue every year, and we practice ethics every day in our business dealings. if we didn't, we wouldn't be here today. which is probably why it offends me so much that others do not. i will say this...you ALWAYS have a CHOICE of what to buy. you can CHOOSE to buy AMD or intel. you can choose to buy a company that is innovating and trying to maintain fair business practices, or you can buy a company that is trying to monopolize an industry and drive ANY and ALL competitors out of business using unfair practices. if you can't choose, then it is too late.
I think one of Google's motto's is "Don't be evil"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 02:31 PM   #48 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

The company I work for strives to stand out from the crowd through its ethical and fair behavior. It isn't just lip service, either... the company will take a direct hit/loss if there is not an ethical way to do something. These behaviors are a part of how we do business, and the only way we due business. The company has all of it rolled together into their business practices, and it is a part of our work culture. When I started work here, we didn't even use a time clock... we wrote in our start and stop times.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 02:41 PM   #49 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

I used to think of AMD as an ethical company but I recently read an article about how their executives made massive bonuses when they were doing well a couple of years ago and how the company is paying the price for not investing more in R&D.

The only major company that seems truly ethical is Google.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 03:00 PM   #50 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
I used to think of AMD as an ethical company but I recently read an article about how their executives made massive bonuses when they were doing well a couple of years ago and how the company is paying the price for not investing more in R&D.

The only major company that seems truly ethical is Google.
executive bonuses are not unethical in any way as long as there are not unethical practices put to use in order to ensure the goals put forth (in order to recieve said bonus) are met.
it is unfortunate that they did not re-invest the money that was divied up between the executives into RD, but hardly unethical.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
8 Intel Cores Faster Than 16 AMD Cores? Osiris Overclocking and Modding 9 05-28-2007 08:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.