AMD or Intel Quad cores? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2008, 11:31 AM   #31 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

^^true that.

Even for an htpc, where a 780G matx platform + 45w dual core is ideal.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 01:40 PM   #32 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

u can still OC AMD processors even if they r cheaper it just wont be as high as Intel right now.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:44 PM   #33 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
i dislike intel's business practices and ethics, which is why i haven't bought anything by them in awhile. although, the performance difference is almost enough to make me switch, but the cost of the cpu i want (e8500) is hindering me from doing so...i just won't spend that much.
plus, i just like the color green.
why do you "hate" AMD?
Thats why I hate Intel, they're got no ethics whatsoever, and they just seem evil to me
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:37 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Thats why I hate Intel, they're got no ethics whatsoever, and they just seem evil to me
And Amd/Ati do? Or nvidia? or any other company on the planet?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:39 PM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Atleast AMD didn't try to pull off a full AMD CPU monopoly with Dell like Intel did

but thats why I respect AMD more, they don't try stuff like that
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 06:01 PM   #36 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

^^ AMD or any other company would do exactly the same thing Intel did. The only reason AMD hasn't is they do not have the market share / money to pull it off.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 04:38 AM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

i dont care who/what the company is/does. i want the ones that perform for reasonable prices. And right now, it just isnt amd.
my old athelon 64 was a trooper though. XD
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 06:29 AM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Also read this. Phenom 9750 and 9850 have compatibility problem with many 780G boards. So, he is forced to buy 790FX-based motherboard which cost more than $150, if you really don't want to have problems
Actually, there are 790X (not FX) and 770FX chipsets.
As well as Nforce 500 series AM2 boards.

look here
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

A lot of boards that don't officially support Phenom still work with it.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:01 AM   #39 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
Actually, there are 790X (not FX) and 770FX chipsets.
As well as Nforce 500 series AM2 boards.

look here
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

A lot of boards that don't officially support Phenom still work with it.
see I got backup from an AMD Expert, so what I said above was true

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
not so fast at the bottom

you could still use some AM2 boards, and there are a lot of good sub $150 boards for AM2+

ex: AMD 770 chipset Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
another ex: 790x: Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

so you're right somewhat, but not about the board parts
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-03-2008, 10:04 AM   #40 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: AMD or Intel Quad cores?

Yup, nforce 5 boards do work....i have the phenom bios loaded on mine, just no phenom lol..
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
Intel Beats AMD to Lead-Free Processors maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-24-2007 03:35 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
8 Intel Cores Faster Than 16 AMD Cores? Osiris Overclocking and Modding 9 05-28-2007 08:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.